The 2015 Cinderella

Megan Keiffer

Having started the semester off talking about Cinderella, I felt it only appropriate to write a blog post about the latest Disney adaptation of this classic. I really didn’t want to go see this movie, as I’m not particularly drawn to Disney fairytales, but I was visiting my cousins and they twisted my arm.   Visually, the film was beautiful. The colors were bold and rich, evoking life and splendor in the most cruel people and scenarios. When we are introduced to Cinderella’s stepmother, we see her beautiful, rich green dress before her face is revealed, as she seems to literally emerge from the forest. Though I was impressed with the colors, the creative storytelling, and the strict adherence to the fairytale’s original plot, something irked me about this film. Perhaps I’m too much of a cynic for fairytales, but I was frustrated by Cinderella’s ignorance. I was angry with her acceptance of “fate,” and how she took no responsibility for her future and what might happen to her. She must have justified everything with the phrase “have courage and be kind” two dozen times throughout the film, and she never took her life into her own hands. Rather, Cinderella always did what she was told, laid by the ashes (literally and figuratively) and adopted the cruel nickname Cinderella as her own. Cinderella is not an active character. She passively awaits the day when life will magically turn in her favor. She resigns to the life she is given, a message that shouldn’t be taught to young girls. But alas, this is more so a fault in the original fairytale than the 2015 Disney adaptation. The film was entertaining and definitely pretty, though I was not a big fan of seeing this sad story happen to real people and actors in lieu of drawings and animations.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

