Disbelief- Paul Martin

When I was nine years old I wanted nothing more than to go see “The Scorpion King” upon its theatrical release with my father.

When I finally whined and nagged enough for him to take me to this film that I’m sue he knew all too well would be a snoring session for himself I was jumping for joy. When we arrived at the theater I saw a poster for a new racing movie I had not sen advertised on the Disney channel everyday after school. That movie is called “Driven” and was written by and starring Sylvester Stallone. Although it was panned by viewers and critics alike, it remains one of my favorite movies. Regardless of the nostalgia it gives me of times with my dad, and my passion for racing, I continue to find the very simple plot line with interesting love triangle twists and more importantly, the visuals incredibly striking and engaging. The film serves as an example to me of how differently audiences perceive every individual film based on their expectations. “Driven” was criticzed for its lack of realism as a driving movie, but audiences the world over have absolutely no problem suspending disbelief when it comes to movies like the Fast series that have people jumping and fighting like superheroes always on the brink of injury and defying death at every turn in the most unrealistic ways imaginable. The way public perception created through marketing before a film is even released affects a movie is incredibly powerful although it is rarely if ever mentioned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

