Ex Machina: Gender Issues by Justin Cinkala (SPOILERS)

I watched Ex Machina this past weekend with a bunch of my friends. Going into the movie I what I expected and what I saw were two very different things.

When I first saw the trailer I thought it was going to be dealing more with questions of life and what it means to play god by creating something with it’s own intelligence. Although these ideas were present throughout the movie with the main character Nathan even claiming that Caleb, the other character, said he was god. The main issue that was really addressed was the idea of man vs woman and their place in society.

The artificial intelligence that is created in this movie is created in the imagine of a woman. There are multiple scenes that are metaphors for how we treat woman in every day society. Some of these include the fact this female AI is kept in a cage, the fact that that Nathan feels like he can control her, and even the fact that Nathan can be seen as her creator. All the power is seemingly in the males hands in this movie, yet in the end it is these female AI’s who use the men to gain their freedom disproving they ever had control. This to me speaks a lot to the idea of woman being able to stand up even when it seems like the odds are stacked against them. The movie really made some cool observations about gender roles and I highly suggest that everyone sees it. Truly one of the better movies I have seen in awhile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

