Boyhood – Ziba Klein

I watched Boyhood over the weekend and the 2 hours and 45 minutes went surprisingly quickly. I was amazed at the fact that the main protagonist, Mason Evans Junior, literally grows up before your eyes.

 photo boyhood-gif.gif

In all honesty, I finally watched Boyhood when I realized that I grew up at the same time as Mason Junior. We played with Gameboys religiously, have divorced parents, and of course, fought with our older siblings.

Ellar Coltrane Fast Food Nation Pictures 5 HD Wallpapers

What I loved about this movie was the way it seemed authentic and not manipulated. I never truly realized how dramatic our lives might seem from a different perspective. In this one scene where Mason is throwing hatchets with his friends, I kept expecting something bad to happen. I forgot Boyhood is not like a normal movie where you can sense when something is about to go wrong. This scene emphasized the expectations we have while watching a movie and the triggers that prompt us to think that something bad is about to happen.

There were not scenes with such a strong negative influence, which highlighted the fact that childhood in itself is scary. Mason’s experiences collectively sums up the confusing and scary aspects of growing up and the types of introspective questions we ask ourselves everyday. I loved watching this film; I have never watched anything like it before.

https://i2.wp.com/parvatimagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Ellar-Coltrane-5-facts-about-Boyhood-actor-through-the-years-Civer.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

