Luke Kohler’s Entry #1

I saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens for the second time this past weekend. The viewing was over Christmas break with my mother. I can’t remember the last time we saw a movie together, so watching an extension of the film series I enjoyed most in my childhood was quite nice.

The second viewing was quite different; my wife and I took our 4 year old twins to their first “big kid” (read: higher rating than G/PG) film. My son Sammy received an X-Wing for Christmas, and has since watched the original trilogy and prequel films. His favorite characters to play pre-Force were Darth Vader, Boba Fett and Luke Skywalker. Mildred, my daughter, wasn’t nearly as interested in the franchise but played Princess Leia and Han Solo.

Fast forward to Sunday after our return home: both kids wanted to be Rey (of course, since she’s a total bad ass), with less interest in Finn or Kylo Ren (although “Daddy” always has to be the bad guy, even if I prefer Vader or Fett).

Gretta and I always encourage our kids to disregard gender-normative roles and just be who they want to be, and Rey gave both of them added fuel for that fire.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Luke Kohler’s Entry #1

  1. Heather Sullivan says:

    I too loved the Star Wars series as a kid (even the prequels, sue me), and I was really amped about The Force Awakens.
    Rey WAS a total bad ass and I love that both of your kids appreciate her (kudos to you and Greta’s parenting).
    I’m excited about the new trio. My only complaint about The Force Awakens is that it would have been cool to see how leaving the Clones affected Finn more (surely some psychological damage from being brainwashed all those years). Seeing as how Disney now owns Star Wars, however, it makes sense that they’d keep the plot a little more family-friendly.

  2. marymdalton says:

    Love this post and love Rey!!!

Leave a Reply

