Schumer and Cinderella-Sarah King

set_inside_amy_schumer_disney_princess_640

While watching Amy Schumer’s “Last F**ckable Day” sketch (which I admit had me laughing out loud), I got to thinking about our discussion on the first day of class surrounding Cinderella and the creation of dominant ideals for women. Bernikov wrote in his essay that “to win the Prince, to be saved, requires being pretty. All the women care about this.” Schumer’s sketch echoes this idea when discussing how women reach a point in their lives when the media no longer portrays them as, let’s use the word “desirable,” and how men never have this problem.

From fairy tales such as Cinderella to modern day movies and other media, “beautiful” women are portrayed in very similar ways–blonde hair, blue eyes, fair skin, and with a small waist, yet also curvy. From an early age, we are bombarded with this imagery of unreasonable ideals. I remember watching Cinderella over and over again as a child, wishing to be her. However, having small feet might be the only thing Cinderella and I have in common. Does that mean I’m not beautiful?

Amy Schumer’s sketch did a brilliant job of highlighting the unreasonable ideals put in place for women and the double standard there is for men. I enjoyed how the women, who I think all look great, celebrated their “last f**ckable day” because it was as if a burden had been lifted from their shoulders now that they no longer have to worry about trying to meet the unreasonable standards the media has in place for women.

-Sarah

Just for kicks, here’s a link to a buzzfeed article showing how some Disney princesses would look with realistic waistlines.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Schumer and Cinderella-Sarah King

  1. marymdalton says:

    I think it’s hilarious, too! (Bernikow is a woman… ;-).)

  2. Ayla says:

    I love Amy Schumer! At first I was on the fence about her because of how open she is about everything, but then it opened my eyes to how the standards for how a woman should act were blocking my and other women’s sense of freedom.

Leave a Reply

