Review on “Trainwreck” – Janie McGraw

When I first became exposed to Amy Schumer last summer I could not stop watching her show on Comedy Central and her hilarious stand up routines. I found that all of her videos and performances were very relatable to our generation and she was not afraid to say exactly what was on her mind. When I found out there was a film written by Schumer coming out, I could not wait to see her comedy come alive on screen. Trainwreck, a romantic comedy directed by Judd Apatow features stars such as Bill Hader and Brie Larson. With an award winning director like Apatow, I was expecting the film to have the same comedic effect as Bridesmaids had on me. The film was released on July 17th and was nominated for two Golden Globes and the WGA Award for Best Original Screenplay.

When I first saw the film, I was a little disappointed. However, when I tried to look back at what I disliked most about the film I could not pinpoint my answer as to why. The beginning scenes in the film were funny and showed Schumer’s true comedic talent but as soon as the film started to get sappy I became disappointed. I also thought the film was too long and there were scenes that needed to be cut. The ending scene tied up the story altogether in an entertaining way but I still wanted the entire movie to be as entertaining and comedic as her raw stand up acts are. What was different about comedic Kristen Wiig in Bridesmaids and Schumer in Trainwreck is that Wiig’s comedic performance on screen was more natural. However, I think Schumer’s comedic performances live truly show her talent way more than the film did. I think Schumer did a great job acting in her first big feature film but I think her stand up shows are where she shines best.Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 4.27.31 PM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review on “Trainwreck” – Janie McGraw

  1. marymdalton says:

    One of the things I love most about movies is how different people see each film differently, and the more we learn about media, the better our conversations about different media artifacts become! https://wfdddalton.wordpress.com/2015/07/23/trainwreck/

Leave a Reply

