Who Is Rey?

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Over winter break I went with my dad and brother to see Star Wars. My dad has always been a big Star Wars fan and forced my brother and I to watch every movie growing up. We were all really excited when the film came out. My dad was so excited that he took a day off of work and took my brother and I to see it in IMAX 3D, the best possible way to view a Star Wars movie in my opinion.

On the ride home after the movie we talked about how shocked we were about certain outcomes for certain characters (I choose my words wisely as to not give any spoilers for those who have not seen it yet). Then we started debating who we think Rey really is.  My theory was that she is actually Luke Skywalker’s daughter, which would make sense as to why she connected with his lightsaber.  My dad and brother both agreed with me and we thought we had solved the puzzle. But as with any Star Wars film, all is not always as it seems.

A few weeks after I saw Star Wars I found this article on Reddit that changed everything. The article suggests that Rey is actually the reincarnation of Anakin Skywalker. Talk about being mind blown!  If this is the case, then I am absolutely in awe of fact that the writers of Star Wars came up with this. Of course movie making takes skills, but to have a story line as intricate as Star Wars and to be able to continue blowing the minds of all who view it proves the point we were making in class last week relating to Hugo Münsterberg, that movie making is truly an art form.

It is amazing to me to see how movies are not just for our viewing.  Movies help us negotiate our understanding of life and influence our everyday conversations to the point that we are having debates about the meaning of films and the theories that we have about them.  I think the lingering question of “Who is Rey?” is a perfect example of the brilliance that goes into making films and the influence they have over us.

Star Wars, in particular, is a film series like no other and it blows my mind that the writers are able to still bring the shock factor even after all of these years.  I am really excited to find out who Rey really is and to see what more this timeless series is going to throw at us in the future!

-Danielle Cales (Entry #1)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Is Rey?

  1. marymdalton says:

    Even though I have seen the film, I appreciate your “no spoilers” policy!

Leave a Reply

