My Love for Aziz Ansari

master-of-noneEver since I first saw Aziz Ansari’s character Tom Haverford sing about it on Parks and Recreation I have lived my life by one motto, “Treat Yo Self” (if you don’t know what I am talking about do yourself a favor and click the link here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OP3xf6BFEIo). Although my love for Aziz began here it has only grown as I have seen him morph himself into many different roles from standup comedian to author and now writer and creator of one of the most bold, thoughtful, and game-changing sitcoms to ever be released.

I had seen Aziz’s Master of None when it was first released on Netflix. Although I had originally enjoyed it for its brutal accuracy of everyday life and conversations any 20 something would have (i.e. the Plan B episode discussing wether or not pre cum does or does not contain sperm) it wasn’t until our discussion of race in class which made me realize that maybe the true reason I enjoyed it was because for the first time in a long time a TV show actually depicted real life and tackled issues that my generation are facing from unwanted pregnancy to racism, it was like Aziz was in my mind discussing things I wanted to know.

Although I had been used to the humor of navigating the new online dating scene that Aziz so frequently talks about in his stand up and book Modern Romance I found that I liked this new and different Aziz who wasn’t afraid to talk about Hollywood’s race problem and open up about his own family’s struggles, his dad being a first generation immigrant in the US.

After our class discussion about why the Oscar’s are so white I look forward to re-watching Master of None so that I can take a second look on the issues Aziz discusses.

{Sara Greene}

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Love for Aziz Ansari

  1. marymdalton says:

    I love this series.

  2. Ayla says:

    I love Aziz! Have you read his book “Modern Romance”? It’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

