(Lack of) Attention Span

Regardless of what people tease, I treasure my guilty pleasure television. Whether it is The Jersey Shore, Keeping up with the Kardashians, or any of the Real Housewives, I cannot help myself from indulging in these “valueless” shows. I decided to conduct a social experiment on myself and dedicate a full hour in the middle of the day to watch an episode of Keeping up with the Kardashians. I was stressed, agitated, and annoyed throughout the entire episode. I could not stop thinking about my schoolwork, meetings, and job applications I still had to do that day. It led me to more deeply analyze why I had previously obsessed over these types of shows. What I discovered shocked me, since it defeats the entire purpose of watching television; I watched these types of shows because during them I could shut my brain off and mindlessly enjoy. This genre of television does not require focus or expending any energy and that is why I appreciate it at the end of a long day. However, I hope now I can make a more conscious effort to truly pay attention and mentally engage in more substantive television/cinema in the future.

 

Stephanie Rubin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (Lack of) Attention Span

  1. marymdalton says:

    You should register for my course Culture and the Sitcom next semester. I think it might shape the way you think about television…even though we don’t address reality TV. Seems to me that your final paper for this course should be on the reality TV genre…

Leave a Reply

