#BeforeFacebookI- Lexi Cass

Earlier this week, the hashtag #BeforeFacebookI began trending worldwide on Facebook and Twitter. When I saw the hashtag, I was intrigued and immediately wanted to see what people were saying.

At first, I was very entertained. People were being very creative and humorous. Twitter users were tweeting things such as, “ could have gotten arrested for “poking” a stranger.”

As I thought about what I would say, I became a little sad and nostalgic. Besides all the jokes, life really was different before Facebook and social media. There was undoubtedly more face-to-face interaction. There was no way of knowing what people were up to without calling them or physically meeting up with them. I have had a long distance best friend since I was 5 years old, and before Facebook we set up get togethers at least twice a year to catch up. Now, we find it much easier to push it off as we can see what is going on with our lives on Facebook. I used to write my friends birthdays down on a calendar. I used to put together physical photo albums. I used to talk to my friends in conference calls.

Social media has a lot of positives, especially in terms of staying in touch with people while being away at college. However, social media has also taken some valuable things away. Now, we value human interaction less and less, when it should be one of the most important things. The #BeforeFacebookI hashtag really got me thinking of what I miss most about life before Facebook and other social media platforms.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #BeforeFacebookI- Lexi Cass

  1. Such an interesting thing to think about for sure – the world is so different! Many good and many bad things about our communication existed #BeforeFacebook. Thanks for sharing your insights! -Corey

  2. marymdalton says:

    This post makes me a little wistful…

Leave a Reply

