Grease: Live (Valerie Medoff)

Julianne Hough and Aaron Tveit in Grease: Live

Let me start out by saying that while I have always been a fan of musicals, I have never been a fan of Grease. Needless to say, I was more than a bit skeptical when I heard that Grease: Live would be Fox’s first venture into live TV musicals. As the cast list came out, I was outraged. I was horrified that the likes of Vanessa Hudgens and Carly Rae Jepsen would be playing these iconic characters. I was, however, delighted to hear that Aaron Tveit, one of my favorite musical theatre actors, would be playing Danny.

I, reluctantly, agreed to watch Grease: Live with some of my friends and I have to admit, I was wrong. The TV musical was phenomenal. The dance numbers were clean, the technical aspects were insanely impressive, and the singing awed me (with the exception of Carly because I was still right about that).

Standout moments included Doody’s song “Those Magic Changes” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_RpzGBidCs), Rizzo’s “There are Worse Things I Could Do” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wKsXNyb44Jw), and basically everything Aaron Tveit did. Another standout moment was the opening number “Grease is the Word” sung by Jessie J (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGObkWnXWMs) which hinted at the incredibly expansive set and technical aspects of the production.

My favorite video, however, showed the technical process that went into creating this musical and showed the Associate Director calling all of the shots in time with the music. This woman is incredible! How do I get her job?! (https://www.facebook.com/carrie.havel/videos/10153418696832898/?pnref=story).

Overall, I loved this televised production of Grease: Live and I’m very excited to see what Fox produces next!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

