Just a Kane? –Sarah King

“So that’s it? The tombstone art work was just an album cover?”

“And Rosebud was just a sled. I didn’t just ruin Citizen Kane for you, did I?”

Veronica Mars, 2.18, “I Am God”

19fi2jx8wnnsjgif

Being sick has its upsides, and by that I mean binge watching a TV series on a Thursday. Today’s choice: Veronica Mars. Because I’ve watched this series before, I thought it’d be a good show to watch aimlessly as I drifted in and out of sleep. Boy, was I wrong.

I had forgotten about the murders, the romance, the mysteries, the drama. I’ve been sucked in all over again. Toward the end of season 2, an exchange between Veronica and her guidance counselor referenced Citizen Kane, something I had not noticed the first time I watched because I had not yet seen the movie. Even though it just one of many brief moments of wit and sass from Veronica, it got me thinking.

One of the prominent families in the series is the Kane family. Jake Kane is software tycoon, and his family lives in an over the top mansion. On the surface, the Kanes are a happy, wealthy family, but the audience learns early on that they are full of corruption and tragedy. Their daughter, Lily Kane, is murdered by her boyfriend’s father who she was having an affair with. Their son, Duncan, suffers from epilepsy and often has violent outbursts. Jake Kane has had an ongoing affair with his high school sweetheart, who happens to be Veronica’s mother. Is their last name just a coincidence?

Maybe I’m overthinking things, but maybe creator Rob Thomas is a fan of Orson Welles.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a Kane? –Sarah King

  1. marymdalton says:

    I doubt it is a coincidence! I need to see that series…one among many, unfortunately!

Leave a Reply

