The Harry Potter Post -Valerie Medoff

IMG_4254

I came across a Buzzfeed article this week that included stills of the 100 most visually perfect scenes within the 8 films (http://www.buzzfeed.com/pavandaggupati/100-best-images-from-harry-potter-253z1).

The Harry Potter films are ones that I have always admired, partially due to fact that I’m obsessed with the books, but mostly due to the fact that the films are crafted so beautifully. Every one of these stills is something that I would hang on my wall.

I am often struck by how much care and detail went into making the films. I fully appreciated the amount of detail when I went to the Harry Potter Studios in London this past semester. The studios included displays of sets, props, costumes, etc. and had a separate section for every film-making element that went into the film. For a die-hard Harry Potter fan like me, the studios were heaven. Because of how detailed the crew was in creating this world for these films, being at the studios made me feel as if I were living with the characters in the film, a truly magical moment.

I think a lot of the time, book to film adaptations get a bad rep. They are often so heavily criticized for all they did “wrong” and all of the details that they left out or changed, but I think it is important to remember that film is an entirely different art form and should offer up new artistic choices. The beautiful Harry Potter films, though not entirely accurate to the books, are ones that I will never tire of watching.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Harry Potter Post -Valerie Medoff

  1. marymdalton says:

    I agree completely: books and movies are different forms and should be considered as such. Love the photo!

Leave a Reply

