Rated R

Megan Barr

http://www.buzzfeed.com/adambvary/ryan-reynolds-r-rated-superhero-movies-deadpool#.tpRbMaGWG

As Valentines approaches, I am reminded once again that I am alone. Per usual, I have looked up my options for what movies I can go see by myself in the dark where no one can judge me that I’m all alone. Though in light of recently getting a puppy, I may or may not be trying to sneak him into the theatre, so I won’t feel so alone. This year there are plenty of romantic comedies and girl centered romps that I could go see that will no doubt either make me feel worse about being single of limply try and empower me for being single. However, there is one film that boast a love store and won’t make me want to go home eat Trader Joe’s Belgium Chocolate Pudding and cry, and that is Deadpool (that is unless the film totally blows). This is the film I will be seeing which I’m sure from prior posts would be an obvious decision for me. There are even some badass women in this film, and in another article Ryan Reynolds even supports the idea of more female superhero films, but coming from a white man who has already got multiple superhero films under his belt, I’m not sure how much I’m buying his “desire to see more female led superhero films.” However, a feminist rant is not what I’m about to embark on instead I want to focus on the idea of Rated R and the funding that comes with such an “intense” rating. Deadpool, in order to actually pay proper homage to the character, had to be rated R. There was no way around that, but with that  rating came a much smaller budget. Reynolds says that despite the smaller budget this rating allowed them so much more creative freedom. I believe this statement alone lets us view into the complex Marvel and DC universes in a whole new way.

Marvel and DC rate their movies PG-13 to draw more audiences and therefore more money, but Deadpool has the potential to change this. If Deadpool does as well as the critics believe it will, then maybe we will see more gore, cursing, and violence in our future superhero movies. Instead of the campy do gooders we are currently having to live with. I don’t buy that Captain America is always fighting for the American way. It would be fun to see directors making these big budget films have more freedom with what they produce. Currently, they must appease the ratings, set up for sequels, and ensure the bad guys goes down (though not out right murder the guy because heroes would never just kill the bad guy). Real life decisions may not come down to the odds these superheroes face, but heroes don’t face faceless, nameless armies (ex: the robots or aliens in both Avengers movies), they face people and when they mow them down in perfectly choreographed action scenes shouldn’t the weight of the heroes killing someone mean something. It’s obvious from the trailer that Deadpool is murdering real life humans, and these deaths come with all the gore they deserve. Deadpool may not feel bad about killing them the way Captain America might but Captain America is a regular guy turned superhero Deadpool is a remorseless mercenary. Regardless, shouldn’t our heroes be faced with real enemies, real gore, and real violence not CGI enemies and bloodless battles? Maybe Marvel should worry less about the ratings and more about the content they are putting out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rated R

  1. marymdalton says:

    Cute…especially the puppy reference!

Leave a Reply

