Steve Jobs – Corey Washburn

Steve Jobs has surprisingly not been at the top of my list of films to see, but because of my weekend company’s film choices, I did see the film on Saturday.

Aside from being completely intrigued by the story, I found myself engulfed in the cinematography of this film – something I am not used to finding myself paying much attention to. The lighting of the movie and camera movement struck me in every scene – and I couldn’t help to connect both of these elements to the swift, bright movement technology often uses, particularly something like the iPhone or a Mac computer. Additionally, the light on both Steve Jobs’ and his daughter’s faces often provided a glimpse of hope and shed some light (pun intended) on their somewhat depressing situations. I could be reading too much into it, but I do think this is worth noticing if you see the film.

I am interested in directors’ perspectives as a result of our recent class discussions, and look forward to connecting this film to the Auteur Theory, in particular, and possibly doing some research on it for a paper. The film’s story line and the production of it seemed as though Steve Jobs was an anti-hero, but was one that perhaps we wish were the hero we actually want him to be. I found myself thinking about this move into Sunday afternoon and even today and have thus been reading reviews on it as well. Technology is such a touchy (no pun intended) subject for our generation, and I know that Danny Boyle (the director for this film) is well aware of the majority of the viewers’ daily interactions with technology and prior knowledge about Steve Jobs and his life story.

All in all, this is a great movie and though it isn’t overwhelmingly hilarious or filled with modern controversial that often spark my interest in movies, you should definitely give it a shot if you have the chance.steve jobs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

