Spotlight: A Review & the Oscars – Corey Washburn

Aside from the praise this film has received since its debut, it has been suggested to me many times by friends, professors, and peers who have seen and loved it. I am in an editing course this semester and was highly encouraged to view this film because of the things we are learning in that class as well. I FINALLY watched it last night, the night before the Oscars, and loved it.

I am thrilled to say that I can review this film in three perspectives: that of Media Theory, from a journalistic perspective, and from the sheer pleasure I got in watching this film. Its message is astounding, and is one that everyone should hear. And of course, who doesn’t like Rachel McAdams?

I love that this movie utilizes a time in history to parallel it to modern times, freedom of the press, and the many many things in this world that go on without our knowing. Of course, the cinematography, the acting, and the directing in this film was great, but I can’t stop thinking about Spotlight since I watched it, which to me, is so powerful.

When I got home from the game this evening and found out that it got best original screenplay at the Oscars, I couldn’t help but think that that award may be the best for this film. I think Rachel McAdams definitely deserves best supporting actress, but in terms of how I felt after watching this movie, best original screenplay is great. I don’t want to spoil the movie for people who haven’t seen it yet, but the decisions they make are so real it’s chilling to watch, and the story they are losing sleep over is newsworthy, it’s haunting, and it’s REAL in the lives of Americans. Truly, truly powerful. Well done, Spotlight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spotlight: A Review & the Oscars – Corey Washburn

  1. I wrote my essay for today on Spotlight, and when I learned that they won last night, I was thrilled!
    I am happy to hear you, and others, love this movie as much as I do.
    -Emily Strachan

  2. marymdalton says:

    It really is a terrific film.

Leave a Reply

