Room – Janie McGraw

When I saw how many nominations the notorious film “Room” had at the Oscars, I knew that this was a film I needed to watch. I was interested to see Brie Larson in this film because I had listened to her pop teen music when I was in middle school and wondered how her acting skills were. Brie Larson won an Oscar for Best Actress in a Leading Role for this film and I truly agree that she deserved this the most. The first part of the film takes place in a shed also known as “Room” where 24-year-old Joy and her son Jack are held captive in. The dynamic between the mother and her son was inspiring to watch because she always tried to make the best out of a situation just for her son.

It is also interesting to watch how excited everything is in the room to Jack because he has not seen the world yet. It made me truly appreciate the life I have and that we should never take anything for granted. Kidnapping has always been my greatest fear ever since the story of Elizabeth Smart came out years ago where she was held captive by a man for many years. I was intrigued by the way Joy came up with her escape plan and watching it play out was scary to watch because I did not know whether Jack would escape. Brie Larson’s performance in the second half of the film is impeccable because it shows how distraught she is after having a child with her capturer. This was a film I highly recommend that everyone watch because it brought tears to my eyes and was suspenseful as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Room – Janie McGraw

  1. marymdalton says:

    It is a powerful film…

Leave a Reply

