Airplane Movie Watching- Sara Greene

Spring break and a 5 hour flight both ways to St. Lucia was the perfect opportunity to catch up on my movie watching. Over the course of the two flights I was able to watch both Creed and Bridge of Spies.

I finally got to see what all the hype was around Creed. In my opinion Michael B. Jordon was for sure snubbed an Oscar nod and was shocked that Sylvester Stallone was the one who received one. Yeah it was cool to see Stallone recreate his role of Rocky but besides talking in that voice that is at sometimes so mumbled you can’t understand it I’d say Michael B. Jordon was the real star of this movie. Jordon portrays the struggle to be connected to his father but still make his own name in the boxing world amazingly. The connection between Rocky and Creed was a great way revive an old franchise.

I honestly enjoyed Bridge of Spies more than Creed, however it might be that I am obsessed with all things Tom Hanks. Hanks plays the role of James B. Donovan impeccably.  Donovan is brave, courageous, and powerful everything you want from a main character. However, the main reason I watched the movie was to see Mark Rylance’s Oscar winning role as Abel. When I first watched the Oscar’s I was shocked to here his name called for Best Actor in a Supporting Role. After watching Bridge of Spies I now understand. Rylance’s portrayal of Abel was incredible. Despite Abel’s more reserved, blunt personality which would not normally be memorable there is something haunting about how Rylance plays him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Airplane Movie Watching- Sara Greene

  1. I haven’t seen either film but you’ve convinced me to see both!
    -Emily Strachan

  2. marymdalton says:

    Fruitvale Station, Friday Night Lights, and The Wire are Michael B. Jordan’s best roles. Check them out!

Leave a Reply

