The Rise of The Planet of The Apes: Wendell Dunn

This weekend I watched the 2011 movie The Rise of The Planet of The Apes with my family for the first time. If you have not seen this movie, I would say it is an action movie about a young scientist who brings home and raises a lab ape named Caesar that has a much higher IQ than any normal ape because of the chemicals it has running through his blood. In the beginning of this movie the Caesar is harmless and is being raised by humans which caused him to view humans as friends and did not see a problem with them at all. But for the climax of the movie Caesar got into some trouble and had to be taken to a primate center to live with other ape which he had never interacted with. Being there Caesar was mistreated by the guard and also had to learn how to interact with other apes. Because of this move, Caesars character basically changes and he is forced to use his intelligence to help free the other apes and himself from being caged by the humans. The way Caesar went about freeing the other apes and himself brought an argument between my mom and myself.

My mom felt as if Caesar was wrong for the way he freed the other apes, she figured he could have used his intelligence to come up with a more peaceful  way to do it instead of harming some people and messing up the whole city. She said Caesar should have left the primate center when his owner came back to get him and he could have came up with a plan with the help of his owner. But i say the way he went about it as the only possible way because no human who has an ape making money for them is going to just release and free the ape just because another ape think its not right. My mom and I went back and forth about this and i figured maybe I should bring this argument to class to see what everybody else thinks about the way Caesar did this.

-Wendell Dunn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rise of The Planet of The Apes: Wendell Dunn

  1. I have such a soft spot for apes for some reason…I think I can feel like they are in many ways human. I’d love to see this film.
    -Emily Strachan

  2. marymdalton says:

    I actually liked this movie much more than I expected to when I saw it!

Leave a Reply

