Room- Valerie Medoff

room-larson-tremblay

This past week of spring break was pure bliss. It involved many hours of finally catching up on the movies that had been on my to-watch list for so long. Among my many film viewings this week was “Room.” As a book lover and film lover, I am often highly critical of film adaptations of books. I read “Room” a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it. The whole story is told through 5-year-old Jack’s perspective, which gave the story a very interesting view point.

I was curious to see if the movie would live up to the book for me (and the hype I had created for it because I had waited so long to watch it). I was also curious to see if the film would stay true to the book by allowing Jack to narrate the film. I was pleasantly surprised at how true to the book the film was. I even would go so far as to say that the film was better than the book. Because the content matter is so heavy, I found it much easier to sit through a 2-hour film about it rather than spend many more reading it. The acting team of Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay was dynamic. Both of their interpretations were so honest and raw that I found myself really feeling for their characters. I was continually impressed by young Tremblay’s acting skills.

I think my favorite part of this film, however was the cinematography. Each shot was so beautifully composed, starting with the quick shots in the beginning of all of the small objects that compose Room, their whole world, to the ending shot that zoomed out to a larger shot of the two walking away from Room one last time.

This is definitely one of my favorite films that I have seen this year and I would highly recommend it. Though the subject matter is very serious and heavy, it was a very enjoyable watch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Room- Valerie Medoff

  1. marymdalton says:

    I agree: terrific book and film.

Leave a Reply

