Netflix and the Art of the Binge

I recently plowed through the new season of House of Cards and now I’m starting the new season of Daredevil. They’re both great shows, but it got me thinking about the narrative process. Netflix and other streaming services encourage their audience to watch episode after episode with little breaks in between. I basically watch a thirteen hour movie whenever I watch House of Cards. And I loved every minute of it.

But I wonder if this is changing the game of how television is written. I remember learning that television is a more auditory medium, while film was a more visual experience. It was understood that if you were going to a theater to see a movie, you’d pay attention to the entire thing. So visual quirks would go noticed. But if you have the TV on, you could very easily be multi-tasking. So the major action needs to be heard. But if Netflix is banking on you taking the time to watch episode after episode, could television shift to a more visual narrative? Food for thought. Personally I like writing dialogue, so I’d be interested to see how this all plays out.

-Matthew Simpson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Netflix and the Art of the Binge

  1. marymdalton says:

    Interesting points…

Leave a Reply

