Lessons Straight from the Horse’s Mouth

BoJack Horseman was one of those shows I would watch when I didn’t want to commit to anything too long or too emotional. BoJack is a Netflix orginal about a washed-up actor who happens to be a horse with each episode at about 25 minutes. I thought it was going to be the perfect pre-bed time show, but it took me by surprise.

bojack horseman

There are several immediately recognizable elements to BoJack that make it so successful: stellar, beautifully-layered animation, well-placed celebrity cameos, memorable music by Grouplove, and a plethora of animal-themed puns.

After a few episodes, however, you’ll realize there’s a lot more depth to the themes in BoJack than meets the eye. The show highlights serious political and social issues, and this is particularly well-done in one of my favorite episodes of the series “Hank After Dark” (S2, Ep7). The episode explores the public’s willingness to forgive male celebrities when it comes to transgressions like sexual and physical assualt. My mouth was agape for a solid hour after finishing the episode; I couldn’t believe an animated show starring anthropomorphic animals could tackle an issue so perfectly and so boldy without offering any easy solutions.

That’s what is so unexpected about BoJack; there’s often no resolution at the end of each episode. It’s a comedy that breaks comedic form and forces its audience to reflect on the issues in the world around them and particulary on their own shortcomings.

I just finished the second season of the series (which improved upon the first in a lot of ways), and I can’t wait until the third is released this summer.

Favorite Depressing-Ass Quote: “You know, sometimes I feel like I was born with a leak, and any goodness I started with just slowly spilled out of me and now it’s all gone. And I’ll never get it back in me. It’s too late.” -Bojack (S1, Ep9)
Favorite More-Uplifting Quote: “It gets easier. Everyday it gets a little easier, but you have to do it every day. That’s the hard part. But it does get easier.” -Jogger (S2, Ep12)
Favorite Character: Vincent Adultman
Favorite Episode: “Hank After Dark” (S2, Ep7)

If anyone else has seen the show, I’d love to know your favorites as well!

About seeyasullivan

21. Wake Forest University. Graduating May 2016. Communication Major with a triple minor in Film, Theatre, and Psychology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons Straight from the Horse’s Mouth

  1. Reblogged this on seeyasullivan and commented:

    Just finished the second season of BoJack Horseman on Netflix, and I can’t recommend it enough!

Leave a Reply

