Week 1 Blog Post- Sarahbeth Rogers

At the beginning of the week, I really did not know what to expect out of this course. However, I found myself excited to watch each video and read the text. As I watched the interviews with Jennie and Nick, I kept thinking back to my favorite show, The Office. To me its silly nature has been something so mindless to relax to and enjoy. Little did I know how much work actually goes into a sitcom and how many adjustments are made to each script. I was shocked to see how many lines, stage directions, and details were changed in Nick’s script. Before this week, I never really thought of the careers behind sitcoms, but it opened my eyes to how many opportunities there are in this industry.

While I was thinking about the career aspect of the sitcom, it reminded me of one of my cousins. He is a costume designer for Saturday Night Live, and though its very different from a sitcom writer, he gets hired on by the season, much like these writers gets hired on to their shows. He goes through periods of being unemployed as well as periods of being very well employed, much like the sitcom writers do. As a young person, it is so exciting to open my eyes to all the careers that are unlike society’s norm, which is why I think I like the office so much. It takes our idea of the workplace and rips it apart. This weeks lessons strengthened my desires to have a career outside the normal office, and I am excited to explore sitcoms further.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 1 Blog Post- Sarahbeth Rogers

  1. I am in the middle of watching The Office on Netflix right now and my mind kept going back there, too. For only 30 minute (ish) episodes I cannot even imagine the last minute alterations and script changes they must have endured! Especially after hearing Nick Adams talk about how hectic New Girl is.

  2. marymdalton says:

    Great post! Thanks for sharing the personal story about your cousin, too, because that adds an interesting context. I was always a fan of The Office and stuck with it even through a couple of “lean” seasons. Was glad it ended on a high note (in terms of quality)!

Leave a Reply

