Three generations of Lucille – Elizabeth Joyner

I have to admit, I’m partial to I Love Lucy and Lucille Ball’s brilliant comedic performance as Lucy Ricardo in the 1950s. I watched a great deal of I Love Lucy as a little girl but not because I thought it was particularly funny as a five year old child. I’m the third generation of Lucilles on my mother’s side of the family, although, it’s only my middle name. My Grandmother and Mother’s first names are Lucille and one of Mom’s nicknames is Lucy. As a little girl I would curl up on the couch and watch I Love Lucy with my Mom and my Grandma. While they laughed at Lucille Ball’s genius on screen I relished in the fact that all four of us shared the same name.

When I got a little older I continued to watch I Love Lucy  and started to appreciate it for more than just the name. I was ecstatic to watch some of my favorite episodes this week for our section on the 1950s and I found myself watching through a different lens. Lucy Ricardo isn’t the typical 1950s housewife standard and I absolutely loved it. She is her own person and so funny in her own right, she doesn’t need to rely on a ‘traditional’ family structure for comedic value. I admire the character Lucy Ricardo and Lucille Ball for creating and portraying her. She taught young women in the 1950s that they didn’t have to be a cookie cutter housewife exclusively, they could have dreams and be an individual too. I’ll never forget cozy afternoons with my Grandmother and Mom watching I Love Lucy, taking pride in being the 3rd generation Lucille to watch the comedic genius with our namesake.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three generations of Lucille – Elizabeth Joyner

  1. I think you make a really good point about Lucy defying the “cookie cutter housewife”. I agree that this is a great message for the younger generations watching the show, especially because those younger women would grow up in a time when the traditional female roles were quickly changing. I also think Lucy could have provided a sense of camaraderie with adult women living more progressive lives by going to work post WWII, or simply living differently from the mold for a housewife in the prior generations.
    Tyler Roberts

Leave a Reply

