Multiple-Camera vs. Single-Camera

By: Bradley Sawyer

Last week after watching the “behind the scenes” film of I Love Lucy, I became more interested in set design and the choices producers make regarding camera techniques. With that being said, I was looking forward to this week’s focus on single-camera techniques due to the fact I am much more familiar with them. While the multiple-camera setup is ideal for shows being shot with a live audience (allowing producers more flexibility), the single-camera technique allows producers to break away from the studio and be more creative with filming locations. I believe the single-camera technique is used the most since it allows more control over the shots. However, I find it extremely interesting that this industry is still “torn” between which technique to use. For example, Modern Family and The Office are two current sitcoms that employ single-camera techniques whereas The Big Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother take advantage of a multiple-camera setup. At this point, I have been unable to decide which form comes across more natural or if it totally depends on the show. I look forward to exploring this more as the course goes on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Multiple-Camera vs. Single-Camera

  1. marymdalton says:

    Yes, I think it just depends on the show! Good points.

  2. marymdalton says:

    Although, I find that I tend to enjoy the single-camera sitcoms more because of the greater verisimilitude.

Leave a Reply

