Magicoms- MacLean Lessenberry

Gary Kenton’s interview particularly intrigued me this week. My mother and I often discuss mindless vs. intellectual television and movies. Just this week I told her that I watch Netflix shows that are mindless to give myself a break from schoolwork and being mentally exhausted constantly at WFU. She, however, does the opposite. She uses television as her way of keeping “engaged” and continue critical thinking. I thought our opposite views on the subject were quite interesting. I don’t know if Gary had considered others with my viewpoint.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Magicoms- MacLean Lessenberry

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I also thought this was interesting. I enjoy mindless television because it’s my escape from reality. There is something so fun in immersing myself in a world that is completely different from my everyday life. – Elizabeth Joyner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I also think mindless TV can be a really good break from work. I feel like this type of TV is nice because you can typically watch any episode in the season without watching in order, which is easier when you don’t have enough time to dedicate to being a true fan. -Tyler Roberts

  3. marymdalton says:

    Of course — I would argue that even “mindless” entertainment is ideological and has an influence on viewers if implicit rather than explicit!

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with Professor Dalton! I think you can find something worthy to learn in every episode. (Even if it is a simple lesson that we often teach little kids). I also love watching these “mindless” tv shows on netflix to get a break from actually thinking. I do however, find myself watching shows such as criminal minds, law and order, etc. that do have you think just a bit. They are, however, so different from the kind of thinking I do in school that it still seems like a break for me! – Sarah Boyce

Leave a Reply

