Broad City and the Liberated Woman

By:Elizabeth Joyner

This summer I started watching the sitcom Broad City with a group of friends. We all get home from work, make dinner, and watch a couple of episodes together before we part ways for the night. This week while I watched Broad City I thought about Judy Kutlas’ chapter on the liberated woman and new sensitive man in workplace comedies. Although Broad City is not a workplace comedy I think Abbi and Ilana, the two protagonists in the show, embody a present day version of the liberated woman.These 20 something women try to navigate living in New York City on their own and often times struggle to get it right. They represent the post graduate woman who suddenly finds herself in an adult world and the challenges she faces to assimilate and gain respect in that world. Abbi and Ilana may be more eccentric than your average female 20-somethings but they present an overall realistic view of what it’s like to be a liberated woman in present day. It can be a struggle and messy at times but it is possible to accomplish especially if you have a great friend by your side. I think my group of friends and I really identify with Broad City because of their take on the liberated woman. We can relate to Abbi and Ilana’s struggles and successes because we’re starting to experience them too.

 

 

 

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broad City and the Liberated Woman

  1. marymdalton says:

    Thanks for the clip! You know, I’ve been meaning to catch up with this series for a LONG time! It is actually on my short list of summer shows to watch after I finish up a big writing project in the next few weeks!!!

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I have not heard of this show but after studying the concept of the liberated woman and new sensitive man, I really think I would enjoy watching. Thanks for sharing!
    -Bradley Sawyer

  3. marymdalton says:

    Remember how I said I’d been meaning to watch it? I bought the first season and watched the pilot today while I was eating lunch! You motivated me!

Leave a Reply

