Liberated Women

By: Bradley Sawyer

I really enjoyed working through the 1970s and encountering the concept of the liberated woman. While this is a topic I am familiar with due to shows I watch and enjoy such as Scandal, Grey’s Anatomy, Weeds (the list goes on), I never gave much thought to the development of the liberated woman. With that being said, I really enjoyed watching The Mary Tyler Moore Show and WKRP in Cincinnati. Before being exposed to these shows and taking this course, I never realized that the woman in earlier sitcoms such as Leave It to Beaver and I Love Lucy were portrayed so differently from the women in later sitcoms. Going along with this topic, I much prefer watching shows with an empowered and assertive woman. Being somewhat familiar with Roseanne, I am looking forward to watching episodes from the series and seeing firsthand the idea of the liberated woman being further developed as the decades pass.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Liberated Women

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I felt the same way when I watched Parks and Recreation all the way through. I really like how they portray Leslie Knope. I do think that certain modern sitcoms, however, are still portraying these 50s like female characters like How I Met Your Mother. Even though Robin and Lily are working women, they are wildly unsuccessful compared to the men in the show and Barney is portrayed as a womanizer. The women that he takes home fall for ridiculous pickup lines. Though there has been a lot of progress in television and the portrayal of women, I think a lot of shows and networks still have improvements they can be making. – Maddy Eldredge

  2. mediaphiles says:

    This is an interesting post, and I agree with what you are thinking. I think it is interesting to add to Maddy’s point the amount of womanizers you see in modern day television. With Charlie from Two and Half Men and Barney from How I Met your Mother.
    – Sam Beckerman

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I totally agree with you both. While modern television has offered some improvements regarding the portrayal of women, there still is room for improvement!
    -Bradley Sawyer

  4. When you say WKRP Cincinnati do you mean that the radio station is owned by a woman? I felt as if women went a little backwards progress-wise in this as the most I took from it was the voluptuous secretary that the men keeping asking out. I guess this also may be because she is the most present female character throughout the show, though.

    • marymdalton says:

      Yes, I think there are definitely mixed messages in WKRP. The mom owns the station. Bailey’s character emerges professionally over time with Andy’s encouragement. Jennifer is a bombshell, but she uses her sexuality to gain power without compromising herself at the workplace…though that may, in effect, reinforce negative norms. Interesting response, MacLean.

  5. marymdalton says:

    Good for you! Clearly, you are a liberated man…

Leave a Reply

