The Brexit

By: Elizabeth Joyner

If there’s anything I’ve learned so far in our sitcom and culture course it’s that what happens in the world influences television and vice versa. This week we saw a major historical event unfold when the British voted to leave the EU. To be honest I didn’t give much thought to how this might influence sitcom until Friday night while I was babysitting. The kids wanted to watch The Wild Thornberrys on Hulu and I obliged since I also loved it as a kid. In this particular episode Nigel makes the comment “safe as the bank of England the whole way,” I laughed and thought to myself ‘too soon, Nigel.’ Later I read Brown’s chapter on the ideal public sphere and I stated to think what the new ideal public sphere might look like and what might be discussed after the Brexit. This applies in particular to British productions but the Brexit effects the rest of the world and it’s popular culture as well. I’m interested to see how sitcom incorporates this major world event and if a new ideal public sphere will be created to talk about it.

thornberrys.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Brexit

  1. That’s too funny! I thought the entire idea of the ‘ideal public sphere’ in general was very interesting. It’s a neat concept to apply to shows and current events do affect television shows so much- more than us viewers realize until we analyze them in an environment such as this.

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I think it is really smart to point to themes that we encounter on TV and how they relate to popular culture and the world around us. Specifically pertaining to “Brexit” Friday was a dark day. The vote to leave the EU has had a resounding effect on the World economy as it caught many financial experts off guard. I would that Britain will be heavily scrutinized on TV shows and comedy shows in the coming weeks, but I suppose we will have to see. -Alex Giacco

  3. marymdalton says:

    Great post and good discussion thread!

Leave a Reply

