Femininity in the 1990s

I was really surprised by the sexual portrayal of femininity in both Sex & The City and in Cybill. I think it was almost distracting. I understand that the shows were linking sexuality and feminism, and at first, it was off putting but then I realized that the overly sexual portrayal of the characters is something that is normally prevalent to men in sitcoms and this was just normalized over time. Maybe I wasn’t used to the women being so sexual in the sitcoms? Why is this necessary to portray feminism in the 1990s? Why does sexuality put women in a position of power on television? These are questions I caught myself asking and I am excited to explore them as the week goes on. -Maddy Eldredge

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Femininity in the 1990s

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I kind of agree with Maddy when she says that the flaunting of their sexuality was indeed a bit distracting. I feel that it was more distracting in Sex and the City because of the fact that was the overarching premises of the show. Although in every episode that we had seen that was all that they were discussing was about sex ans sexual endeavors. It just made me wonder like Maddy why are things so sexual, is this a way women got their sexuality back, or should they have talked about this in some other fashion?
    -Kim Bowen

  2. marymdalton says:

    Interesting that you use the word “necessary.” I’m not sure it was necessary, but it certainly was possible for the first time. Curious to hear how this will be discussed in our synchronous sessions…

Leave a Reply

