It’s really not about nothing

By: Elizabeth Joyner

So far in this course we’ve watched a variety of sitcoms but my favorites are always sitcoms that feature a core group of friends. That held true this week when we watched Sex and the City and Seinfeld. Seinfeld is supposedly a show about nothing but I learned this week that it is about much more than nothing. I had never actually watched it until this week and I really enjoyed it. For years I’ve heard Seinfeld, the show about nothing and it turned me off from watching. Despite it’s enormous popularity I thought it would be a waste of my time to watch a show about nothing. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked Seinfeld and identified with aspects of it. Although the characters are older they deal with everyday life and funny occurrences in each episode. This is something I could really relate to. Everyday occurrences are what we all deal with and I think that’s a lot more than nothing, especially when the occurrences are more comical. Plot lines in Seinfeld make us think about how we handle situations and what he right or wrong thing to do is. Personally I think Seinfeld is not about nothing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s really not about nothing

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I too had never watched Seinfeld until these episodes this week. I was pleasantly surprised as well because of the simplicity of the show and how it was so relateable. I feel that Seinfeld really paved the way for shows that just focus on ordinary issues and how people navigate through life. There are many more of these today. New Girl is an example of a show that I feel is similar; I really enjoy New Girl as well. I wonder if there can be deeper meaning found in New Girl like in Seinfeld or if it really is about nothing..

    Emily Elliott

Leave a Reply

