The Good Laugh That Everyone Needs

By Sarah Teegarden

Reading about the cartoon comedies The Simpsons and South Park this week was really enjoyable for me. I’ve never watched either show a lot because I found the humor, especially in South Park, too blunt or aggressive. Now I think they’re absolutely great. I’m currently debating whether my next television series should be The Office or The Simpsons.

The reason I think The Simpsons and South Park were so fun to learn about is because they essentially make fun of things we take too seriously in this world. Through exposing and transgressive humor they allow audiences to realize and laugh at absurdities and taboos. In a world of people constantly busy and focused on success, it is important to stop and laugh every once and a while, especially at ourselves. Therefore, I think these two sitcoms offer the perfect laugh that everyone needs; a laugh at ourselves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Good Laugh That Everyone Needs

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I think this is a good point about the shows giving us the ability to laugh at ourselves. I found myself while watching South Park stop and just simply laugh at how absurd the humor is. I’ve never done this while watching a show but I found this to really sum up the humor: simply ridiculous but very entertaining.
    -Emily Elliott

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I never really like South Park until I read more about it this week. You make a great point about these shows making us laugh at ourselves. I found a new appreciation for them that I missed before.
    -Elizabeth Joyner

  3. marymdalton says:

    So glad all of you are gaining a new appreciation of these series. Try my personal favorite — King of the Hill!

Leave a Reply

