Disability in Sitcoms

By: Bradley Sawyer

This week, I really enjoyed the section on Disability in Sitcoms and the “Pilot” episode of Legit. I appreciated James Schultz’s chapter and felt a connection to his work since he is a WFU alumnus and recently made the transition from student to scholar. I found his rhetorical approach to disability to be unique and one I had never encountered. With that being said, I have done a few projects on the stigmas that are associated with disabilities, especially in the United States, so that is probably why I gravitated towards this particular section/chapter. After reading the chapter, I realized that shows (more than not) take part in compulsory able-bodiedness that normalize an idealized body and mind. Being a fan of Game of Thrones, I cannot help but think of Tyrion Lannister and his dwarfism that is addressed frequently throughout the series. It is a shame to hear that Legit has been cancelled but I am interested to see what series will come next and continue to address the stigmas associated with disabilities.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Disability in Sitcoms

  1. marymdalton says:

    Excellent post.

Leave a Reply

