Transparent

By: Elizabeth Joyner

I have to admit that I started watching Transparent I wasn’t a fan. Almost everything that I’ve come to expect from a sitcom wasn’t there. The characters are messy and complex, their problems can’t be solved in one half hour episode like in so many other sitcoms; it wasn’t neat or predictable. I was thrown because Transparent doesn’t follow the same structure as many sitcoms but by the second episode I was hooked. The more I watched the more I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next. This series is a more realistic take on a family sitcom. I’m excited for more sitcoms like this in the future and binge watch the rest of Transparent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Transparent

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I agree, but the interview video made me expect that a bit so I wasn’t sideblinded by the difference between an average sitcom and this one. I liked it after accepting its messiness!

  2. marymdalton says:

    It takes a little getting used to, and I think a big part of that is the break with the conventions of the form that viewers expect to see! Glad you are enjoying it.

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I agree that the show is definitely more realistic than most sitcoms. When I watch it I feel like I am watching a real family and a family I can relate to. Most sitcom families to me seem too perfect and too stereotypical. – Lexi Cass

Leave a Reply

