A New Look at Gilmore Girls- Valerie Medoff

After doing this week’s reading and viewings, I can’t help but notice how Gilmore Girls, though not a sitcom, has so many links to family situational comedies. I also have Gilmore Girls on my mind because I’ve been recently re-watching the Gilmore Girls series in high anticipation for this November’s Netflix reboot, A Year in the Life.

gilmore-girls-netflix

I think that Gilmore Girls can be thought of in conversation with family sitcoms because it comments on many norms that have been set in sitcoms, while in a drama format. For example, we see Lorelai raising her daughter Rory as a single parent. We also see that she has a rocky relationship with her own parents. Lorelai and Rory, though not the typical nuclear family, still present a view of a healthy and happy family on television. I think a lot of credit is due to Gilmore Girls for portraying a family unit that is not commonly seen on prime time TV. Another link that had me thinking of Gilmore Girls in relation to sitcoms was a particular episode “That Damn Donna Reed” that aired in 2001. Rory and Lorelai along with Rory’s boyfriend Dean have a movie night where they watch an episode of The Donna Reed Show, a 1950s family sitcom.

960

While Lorelai and Rory mock Donna Reed’s lifestyle , Dean shares that he thinks having a wife like Donna Reed would be nice. Including this allusion to The Donna Reed Show in this Gilmore Girls episodes allows Rory and Dean to explore and comment on the subject matter by having a larger conversation about the woman’s role in a household and relationship and how that has changed over time. Rory decides to surprise Dean and play Donna Reed the housewife for the night. As is typical from Gilmore Girls, allusions to other popular culture allow the show to create a larger discussion and create a strong dialogue about important topics such as relationship roles.

donna-reed

I find it fascinating that modern TV shows are still influenced by some of the earliest sitcom shows. All of these shows must always be considered in conversation with one another.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A New Look at Gilmore Girls- Valerie Medoff

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I found your post very interesting and helpful because I have not seen many episodes of Gilmore Girls, but your analysis of the show helped me to understand how influential sitcoms are. It is clear that sitcoms, nowadays, connect their content to shows in the past. This goes to show that issues such as women’s role in the household are still relevant today, as they were in past years.

  2. mediaphiles says:

    -Jenna Romano (Sorry, I forgot to add my name to the last post)

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I have never watched Gilmore Girls in full, but I have seen a few episodes (my sister loves the show) and think your post makes a good point! I think there are many shows that are technically classified as “dramas” but are pull from elements of sitcoms! Maybe Gilmore Girls will be the show I start next… – Sarah King

  4. marymdalton says:

    I know, I know, I know…I really need to binge my way through this series! So much TV, so little time! (Remember to italicize series titles ;-).)

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I actually just watched this episode last week, and I didn’t even think of this comparison! But you’re so right about the cyclical nature of sitcoms…I wonder if in 30 years or so future television shows will be making fun of Gilmore Girls the way they satirize shows from the ’50s. Great connection! -Sam Moore

Leave a Reply

