Friends vs. How I Met Your Mother – Nicolette McCann

This is the age old debate – Friends or How I Met Your Mother. To be honest, I have seen both of these shows all the way through, and I have loved and laughed at them both. The one that I always turn back to in my spare time, though, is Friends. Despite being the aged one of the two, this is the one that keeps me laughing out loud every time no matter how many times I’ve heard the same joke or watched the same scene. I’m not quite sure whether its the acting or the jokes that keeps me enthralled, but it does.

I always knew that the two were pretty similar, and most of my friends would point little similarities out here and there but I never really took much thought to it. I decided then to look it up for myself and see what I could find on the subject. I found that it has been outlined on many websites like Buzzfeed and The Odyssey, that the characters directly link with one another and that most of the plot points match up – even sometimes in the same seasons. A few examples of these are Ross and Ted as the nerdy guys who marry the “mom’ of the group, Monica and Lily respectively. It all made so much sense, but one thing didn’t.

I always confuse myself with why it is that I enjoy one more than the other since Friends and How I Met Your Mother have pretty much the same characters and plot line. I don’t think there is really much of an answer to it though besides personal preference – especially considering the amount of articles there are that one is better than the other. But still, something to think about.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/tasmaiuppin/friends-and-himym-are-literally-the-same?utm_term=.bj5lPW2DQ#.qtBzB5qmj

http://www.indipepper.com/bidisha-dasgupta/10-reasons-f-r-e-n-d-s-better-himym/

http://www.indipepper.com/kunal-anand/6-reasons-himym-better-friends/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friends vs. How I Met Your Mother – Nicolette McCann

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I agree about the debate between these two shows, however, I must say I am a How I Met Your Mother fan! Although I do love Friends, everyone is too attractive to have the day to day problems that they face (haha)! I just love the believability of How I Met Your Mother and the quirkiness of each character in their intimate group!

    Stephanie Rubin

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I agree that these shows can definitely be compared to each other and think it is really interesting how (like you said) How I Met Your Mother has had such high success, but Friends still remains more of a “classic” to most people. Maybe this is because Friends came to represent a certain generation/time for young people and How I Met Your Mother was just competing with too many sitcoms vying for this success as well. -Lacey Worsham

  3. marymdalton says:

    Yep, I’m a Friends fan from way back!

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I think that these two shows do compete in a way, but what is interesting is that their classicness is in their quirkiness. Its their ability to be “weird” that makes both of these shows consistently in my top Netflix binges. While I agree that How I Met Your Mother might not be classic yet (maybe due to the competition of other sitcoms) I think time will tell if it can really rival Friends in its ability to have a following a decade after it ended. -Ally Harper

  5. mediaphiles says:

    You are so right there is a striking similarity between the two! I still find it so funny that Friends is truly a favorite amongst most people whereas HIMYM is so controversial! I feel like the story lines for HIMYM are slightly more complex and therefore you have to follow along while watching or else you’ll miss out on a joke or won’t understand what is happening. Friends is one of those effortless shows that has more slap-stick comedy, allowing its audience to be able to zone out when they want to. I never really sat down and thought about how similar they really are until your post!!
    -Sam Moore

  6. mediaphiles says:

    No matter what I can always turn on an episode of Friends and be amused, but for some reason I can’t say the same about How I Met Your Mother. I feel like How I Met Your Mother can get boring or repetitive despite having a pretty large main cast. I think it’s the way the cast gets along with each other in Friends, each one stands out as a character and together as a group. When an episode is about a specific character in How I Met Your Mother sometimes I feel like the story doesn’t work and a character falls flat–maybe I’m just having a hard time following what’s going on (like what Sam commented above me). Friends is definitely the type of show you can watch and understand at any point.
    – Ziba

Leave a Reply

