Girls

The HBO series Girls debuted in 2012 to universal praise from television critics and audiences alike. Often described as the millennial’s take on Sex in the City, although critics enjoyed the series overall it’s hard not to find aspects of each main character aggravating.

160120-girls-keyart-1920x700.jpg

It’s not uncommon to gravitate to certain characters of a show and be completely put off by others. Even so, whenever I talk to my friends about Girls they all seem to be more invested in their hatred of the characters, particularly the protagonist Hannah (played by Lena Dunham). Admittedly, I too love Girls and often times have found myself hating Hannah as well. However, it wasn’t until I watched the episodes that Hannah attends graduate school (for the fourth or fifth time) that I realized why I disliked her so much, I saw aspects of myself in her.

In many ways Hannah represents the stereotypical millennial, she’s arguably one of the most selfish characters on television, insensitive, immature and insecure. Watching her antics can either leave you cringing, laughing or just plain annoyed. But what I came to like about Hannah was that she made me take a second look at myself and how others of different generations may look at people my age. I’m not suggesting that Hannah is a mirror to every millennial or our actions but I can’t deny that I’ve had my moments where I could rival Hannah’s level of annoyance. Even though Hannah will never be my favorite or even one of my favorite characters on Girls, I now find myself sticking up for her when others talk bad about her.

I can’t speak for any of my friends who have negative things to say about Hannah and I also don’t know if this will relate to them at all but I just found this connection compelling enough to explore a little deeper.

Screen Shot 2016-09-25 at 11.03.19 AM.png

Still from Girls, “Cubbies” (Season 4, Episode 4, 2015.)

-Courtney Green

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girls

  1. mediaphiles says:

    The episode where Hannah goes to graduate school is probably my favorite Girls episode. I could relate to that episode in so many ways! I was genuinely surprised at how accurately graduate school was depicted. I do agree that Hannah can be a very annoying character but I found your connection very interesting! I never really thought about it that way. – Katie Thevenow

    • marymdalton says:

      Oh, no! I hope that’s not how graduate school really feels!?!?!?!?!?! I would love to hear more about that at some point.

Leave a Reply

