Crazy Ex Girlfriend: Team Rebecca

One of my favorite shows is Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, which is preparing for its second season on CW, premiering October 21st. I cannot contain my excitement for the next season! The series combines comedy with fantastic musical numbers. After watching a particular new episode I usually will have the songs stuck in my head for the rest of the week. The main character, Rebecca, has two men in her love life, who she is always having trouble deciding between. The fanbase of the show has started to pick sides and identify as “Team Josh” or “Team Greg”. Josh is Rebecca’s college summer love. He is charming and outgoing, but things fizzled out. She has never been able to get over her obsession with getting back together with Josh. She even moves to West Covino, California for him, in hopes of getting back with him, against her better judgement. While she tries to rekindle their relationship, and overcome her obstacles such as Josh’s current girlfriend, Valeria, Greg, who is Josh’s friend, enters the scene.

Greg is anything but charming. He is sarcastic, and awkward, irresposible, and very well might be an alcoholic. However, he has a soft spot for Rebecca and they end up building up some romantic and sexual tension. But what I have realized is that both of these men are unhealthy choices. We shouldn’t be choosing one of these men, and instead we should be rooting for Rebecca to realize that she doesn’t need a man to be happy. She is stuck in this fairytale fantasy, and needs to wake up from it and realize she can be by herself, and not everything in her love life will play out like something from the pages of a storybook.

Below is an article that discusses the Team Josh vs. Team Greg vs. Team Rebecca debate.

http://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2016/04/crazy-ex-girlfriend-finale-josh-greg-lea-salonga

 

-Kelsey Sierra

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crazy Ex Girlfriend: Team Rebecca

  1. mediaphiles says:

    This show is too funny! I can never take it seriously when I am watching it. I must say I really do like the musical aspect that they add to the overly dramatic yet comedic scenes.

    Alexandra Peralta

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I love this show too! However I must say I think television shows and movies use the “team this or that boy” as a ploy to keep the show talked about. I agree that we should be rooting for Rebecca herself, but I am not sure the world is ready or open enough for a series that doesn’t have a winning love interest.

    Stephanie Rubin

  3. mediaphiles says:

    This is interesting. I think I have a higher opinion of Greg than you do, though it may be because I feel a certain kinship with characters like him. Sure he may be sarcastic, but does that make him a bad guy? Greg has ambition, he goes to business school at night in addition to working during the day. He lives with his ailing father and has a strained relationship with his mother. Josh on the other hand is less ambitious. The series almost seemed to be pointing us away from Josh and towards Greg because he was a better choice. At the end, however, he made far too many mistakes. I still don’t think that makes him a bad guy. Or even not charming. He’s a funny guy, even if he can be a bit stubborn and headstrong and biting. He tried, he failed, he tried and tried and tried, and failed almost every time. I feel for him. I do think Rebecca places too much worth on being in a relationship, but she started to realize that in the final episodes before she backslid. I’m Team Rebecca, but I’m also Team Greg. – Max Dosser

    • mediaphiles says:

      I know this may be a long shot, but have you by chance seen Legally Blonde the Musical? It pretty much follows the same story line as the movie (but in musical form, obviously). Anyways, the relationship between Elle Woods, Warner (the ex-boyfriend she follows to Harvard) and Emmett (her law school mentor who falls in love with Elle, un-reciprocated until the very end of course) reminds me of the love triangle presented in Crazy Ex-GF. Like Greg (as Max argues), Emmett fails multiple times, but differs in that he succeeds in the end when Elle realizes that Warner is actually the worst and decides to marry Emmett. I love Crazy ex-GF but I grew frustrated towards the latter part of the season because it felt like Greg and Rebecca went back and forth for almost too long. It also felt like Rebecca was finally beginning to evolve as a character and construct her own story in which Josh might have remained a thing from the past, until the final scene of the season in which Rebecca admits to Josh that she moved to West Covina for him. Also, just as a side note– I can’t stand Josh, so I think I might be Team Greg as well.

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I personally have never seen the show nor do I really enjoy musicals, however, this sounds pretty interesting! I agree with Stephanie above, it is interesting to have a show that doesn’t have a specific character that is being rooted for as the love interest.

    -Meghan Murphy

  5. marymdalton says:

    Yet another series I need to watch…

Leave a Reply

