Cute little Beaver

I really enjoyed this weeks shows. But my favorite was definitely Leave it to Beaver, it was the show that made me laugh the most. I could relate to this family and to the beaver, and that is probably what made me like it as much. I loved the characters that appeared on the show and the humor. I think what made it different to The adventures of Ozzie and Harriet for example is that the kid is the protagonist and I think that makes it more entertaining for me.

The Beaver is a 7 year old kid who just wants to have fun, he is outgoing and is not scared of anything. His parents reminded me of mine, they are funny and honest and have no problem with talking about the problems that are happening. The little brother reminded of my sister, getting stuff in my head before I could even think for myself. In this episode his brother and his friend get the Beaver scared of his neighbor’s husband, and it is a very funny episode because it is just very simple and laughable.

Sitcoms in the 1950’s normally showed family’s and their every day problems. People were able to relate to this problems, and therefore laugh at them too. If we look at either Leave it to the Beaver or The adventures of Ozzie and Harriet the humor is very simple, but since it looks so genuine and people can relate it made it so good. People could forget about their problems, by looking at this other families and the problems they had.

Jon Baquero

220px-pinback_01

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cute little Beaver

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I also really enjoyed the Leave it to Beaver episode, mostly because it was the first interaction I ever had with Eddie Haskell after hearing my dad reference him for so many years. I think you make a really good point about the show being relatable for us especially because the show is centered around the kids, and especially Beaver. I was curious because the chapter in Culture and Sitcom did not talk about shows being centered around the kids as much during this time, but more around the parents before inadvertently shifting to the kids. I would not be surprised if this were the case with Leave it to Beaver, except that the name seems to almost immediately center the show on the kids.
    Nicolette McCann

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I love this post as this was one of my mom’s favorite shows growing up! It almost feels like you enter a time continuum when you watch it! I also relate to Beaver and appreciate your comments on how this show was supposed to depict normal 1950s life. I just find it interesting that in reality, this show only represented a very small portion of actual American life at the time!

    Stephanie Rubin

Leave a Reply

