Gilmore Girls Revival – Nicolette McCann

This weekend, I was lucky enough to go home to Maryland and hang out with my family. It was a pretty lax weekend during which the TV was on a majority of the time.  Most of the time it was news or the Today show, which I only watch at home with my mom.

On the Today show was Sutton Foster, an actress I had never heard of until that moment. And though her show, “Younger” looks interesting, it wasn’t what caught my attention.  It was the fact that she was guest starring on the revival of Gilmore Girls, which again until that moment, I had thought was only rumored.  Her mention of this prompted me to look up the revival for more information.

What I found wasn’t necessarily about the revival though.  It actually had more to do with a comment I made on someone’s blog post last week.  In the article on TV Line, I found out that originally the revival was supposed to be released in one or two show increments.  This is no longer the case.  Despite the producer’s wishes, Netflix Chief Content Officer decided that “fans would have killed [them]” if they released them one by one.  This brought me back to one of the comments I left on a blog post last week.

Our generation is so time-constricted that we need to have everything at our fingertips.  Despite this time-constraint, though, we also have come to enjoy binge-waching TV series as a normal pass time.  I thought it was interesting that the Chief Content Officer at Netflix recognized this as a necessity for the show to do well.  It really shows how much has changed from the days of watching “I Love Lucy” at 9 pm every Tuesday to now.

http://www.today.com/popculture/sutton-foster-younger-joining-gilmore-girls-revival-t103274

<i>Gilmore Girls</i> Revival: Netflix Boss Nixed Staggered Release Because the 'Fans Would've Killed Us'

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gilmore Girls Revival – Nicolette McCann

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Do you think this is a good or a bad thing? If technology has enabled us to watch things instantly, why bother with artificially imposed patience? I grew up watching Gilmore Girls reruns on ABC Family that were out of order, so I missed plotlines or had the ends of plots spoiled. Also, binge-watching = less commercials, and that is amazing.

    Elyse Conklin

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I think it is also worth noting how being able to have the content we want to watch at our fingertips allows us to combine our television watching with other activities. Coincidentally, I really enjoy the show ‘Younger’, and last fall I would flat iron my hair at night and watch the latest episode. The television watching culture has indeed changed from a sit-down event, to a more passive task to incorporate and multi-task within our busy daily routines.
    -Kelsey Sierra

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with your comment about the time constraints of people nowadays that caused Netflix to release the revival all at once. I believe that House of Cards changed the game and redefined “binge watching” and now it is hard to go back since we were spoiled by this show and when we wanted more episodes we got them!

    Stephanie Rubin

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I think this is very interesting because its a generational question. People today are getting more and more frustrating with time. People are getting impatient and Netflix fixes this. My question for you though is how do you think this will effect the satisfaction of viewers. Does the anticipation of next week’s episode and the time between each episode make the viewer more engaged? Or does binge watching a whole season fulfill the need of these viewers that have waited years for Gilmore Girls to come back on screen? -Ally Harper

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I don’t know if it is necessary for everything to be released all at once, but Netflix has made it its business to do that. They released a single series (“Between” I think) week-by-week for a season, but it did not work for them, so they changed the release model for the second season. I just feel if you’re partnering with Netflix, you know they’re going to release the series all at once. If you don’t want that, take the project elsewhere. Not every project has that luxury, sure, but that is the Netflix model. And many series it releases (Arrested Development Season 4, Orange is the New Black Season 2, Daredevil Season 1) take advantage of that. – Max Dosser

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I totally agree I’m so glad Netflix realizes that their customers are extremely impatient and don’t want to wait for shows to come out episode by episode. I think the downfall of this is that it’s contributing even more to instant gratification, which most argue is detrimental to our society. I’m SO excited for the revival to come out-I’m a HUGE Gilmore Girls fan.

    -Sam Moore

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I totally agree with you, Nicolette! I think that you brought up some very important points. We, as viewers, expect television shows at our fingertips now; even if my video is buffering for an extra 10 seconds, I get frustrated! I applaud Netflix for recognizing their customer base and the popularity of binge-watching shows. It is mind-boggling to me that people used to watch shows at particular times, especially in the 1900’s. We take advantage of being able to watch whatever we want, whenever we want! I am very excited to watch the Gilmore Girls revival and I have no doubt that Netflix will deliver an impeccable show.
    -Allie Kleinman

  8. marymdalton says:

    Personally, I like the pacing and flow of being about to binge watch. Having that kind of control, too, makes us producers of our own viewing experience. I don’t want to go back!

Leave a Reply

