The First Presidential Debate- by Ally Harper

So as I type this blog, I am watching the end of the first presidential debate, and I am laughing. Did Trump just call the United States a Third World country, yes, yes he did. Did Hillary just call Trump a racist? Yes yes she did. Trump even questioned why Hillary dropped off the campaign trail to prepare for the debate. Her response: “Yes, I did. And you know what else I prepared for?” Clinton shot back. “I prepared to be president.”

But I am not here to talk about politics or who I want to be President because I believe that everyone should have the right to believe what they believe. I am here to talk about the fact that the presidential debates are a media circus. And if they are a media circus, why are they so important? Well, I think they are important because it is the first direct comparison of the candidates. We get to see them side-by-side answering the same questions and “fighting” each other. Just like we analyze films and television shows, we can analyze these debates. Of course each candidate endlessly prepares for them making sure every word that comes out of their mouth is a benefit to their campaign, but what else can we take away from the televised event. What I took away was that Hillary, the democratic nominee, was wearing a red dress, to appeal to the opposing party and in the same respect, Trump was wearing a blue tie, to make him seem attractive to the blue democrats. Hillary made sure to smile every couple of minutes so that viewers can see her as a warm person, and not as serious and hardcore. Trump on the other hand made sure not to smile, so that viewers would take his run for President more seriously.

In class we talk about what these episodes are trying to tell their viewers, and through analyzing these debates, we can do the same thing with our candidates for President.

http://www.cnn.com/2016/09/27/politics/winner-presidential-debate-takeaways/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The First Presidential Debate- by Ally Harper

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Watching the debate last night was definitely very entertaining. I’m not even American, and that’s probably why I thought that it was so funny. But I think that for a country like the US, with so many influences and power that a Presidential Debate goes that way is pretty scary. The fact that this two individuals say the stuff they say can’t be good for anyone. It was definitely good to be able to watch and enjoy having nothing on steak. – Jon Baquero

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree. I did not watch the debate last night but as soon as I woke up this morning I opened endless amounts of snap chats with the contender’s faces morphed, swapped, and edited with filters and comments to show who they are voting for. I do not participate in much political conversation and some of my friends who snap chatted me pictures of them watching the debate aren’t either. The fact that these people were still watching, and spreading the word through social media whether they are interested or not is fascinating to acknowledge.

  3. mediaphiles says:

    ^^^^^^^Kendall Fischlein

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I watched the debate last night, and was more entertained by the commentary on social media than what was going on onscreen. I think there’s something to be said about the fact that something as important as a presidential debate can become a joke that’s good for snapchat filters and memes on twitter. I’ll keep my political opinion out of it, but I love your commentary on viewing this as an episode & what they’re trying to communicate to the viewers! – Sarah King

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I am definitely not one to comment on politics, but I think you make a good point in saying that the debate was a “media circus”. In a few other of my classes, we have talked about framing and how framing can formulate a certain response to something. That was definitely happening all of last night during the debate. I think it is also funny that despite the reality of the fact that this debate is to provide more background and support for each candidate, it did nothing for either of these two candidates. In my class this morning, our teacher asked us who came out of the debate with a different opinion and no one raised their hand. So despite the effort of this debate, there was no real winner or loser because everyone just heard what they wanted to hear and blocked out the rest.
    Nicolette McCann

  6. mediaphiles says:

    In times like this, I think its important to notice not only how important media is to politics but how this has changed during the years. Thinking back to the first time that a political debate was aired and truly changed the way the United States viewed the two candidates: Nixon and Kennedy in the 1960s. It really has a huge impact on the way we think and how we chose something so important as the president of our nation. I think you brought up important points that should not be ignored. All I saw last night on all platforms of media was people talking and posting about the debate, on snapchat, instagram, twitter, the t.v., etc.

    Alexandra Peralta

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I think about eighty million viewers tuned into the presidential debate and I was one of them. The debate had me reacting more than some television shows do. It was as if I was watching a reality TV show. When else are Americans going to see a former first lady debate a reality TV star on who is more qualified to be president? I think this election will be fodder for so many sitcoms once it is actually over. The election and the gravity of it are too raw, at least for me, to joke about it now. On a side note, in my opinion, I think Hillary Clinton had the chance to redefine how women are treated in the media and how they are represented in leadership positions in the media. – Andrew Guido

  8. marymdalton says:

    Excellent approach to thinking about the debate.

Leave a Reply

