Why Do I Kontinuously Keep Up With The Kardashians? By Allie Kleinman

Ever since it debuted in 2007, Keeping Up With The Kardashians has been one of my favorite reality television shows.

635938736985234815-40673042_250880821.jpg

I am quite embarrassed to admit this because the show usually lacks a sufficient storyline. While intending to be a reality show focusing on the personal lives of the Kardashian-Jenner “royal” family, the show, instead, gives more attention to the conceited and unrealistic lives of self-absorbed individuals. I often ask myself, why am I so obsessed with this show?

To be honest, I don’t know. After nine years of being a devoted viewer, the best answer that I can come up with is that watching Keeping Up With the Kardashians is my guilty pleasure. In some ways, I feel that I have built a loyalty to the show; I’ve watched it for so many years, I can’t just stop now.

I felt that I was right there with Kim during her emotional seventy-two day marriage with Kris Humphries, with Kourtney as she had her children and struggled with her relationship with Scott Disick, with Kendall and Kylie as they matured into adults, with Caitlin Jenner as she developed her new identity amongst unnecessary criticism, and with Khloe during her heartbreaking and difficult divorce from Lamar Odom. As silly as it sounds, I feel like I actually know the cast and their stories firsthand.

Keeping Up With The Kardashians has endured quite a bit of criticism from a variety of sources, yet it is still on air and will be for at least three more years (McRady, 2015). So, they must be doing something right.

My curiosity about my own loyalty towards the show led me to do a bit of online research. Who else can’t control their obsession with the Hollywood family’s hit show? What exactly is it about the show that is so captivating? Luckily, I was able to find someone who is just as “krazy” as I am and wrote a blog post about the Kardashian’s influence and ever-expanding empire (Lee, 2016). Check out Hannah Lee’s intriguing article, It’s True…I’m Low Key Obsessed With The Kardashians, on Her Campus.

 

Image Citations

Featured Image:

E! News. E! Entertainment Television, 2016. Web. 27 Sept. 2016.

In-Text Image:

The Odyssey Online. N.p., 29 Mar. 2016. Web. 26 Sept. 2016.

In Text Citation:

McRady, Rachel. “Kardashians Sign $100 Million, Four-Year Deal With E!, After

Threatening to Leave the Network.” Us Weekly. N.p., 26 Feb. 2015. Web. 27 Sept. 2016.

 

**Note: I did not use screen captures, but instead chose pictures that included the entire family.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why Do I Kontinuously Keep Up With The Kardashians? By Allie Kleinman

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I think the reason why the show is still on the air is because it’s so much more then a reality show at this point. The Kardashians are an empire but the reality show is one of the original ways individuals felt connected to the family as you mentioned in your post, so they continue watching because their following is so loyal. It truly doesn’t matter what content or lack there of they put on the show because a good amount of people will watch no matter what. The family has a frustrating push-pull impact on a lot of people, including myself, you don’t want to get caught up in their lives but at the same time you find yourself checking their instagrams, snapchats and twitters. Sometimes I tell myself that their reign can’t last forever but it really doesn’t look like it’s going to stop any time soon. -Courtney Green

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I often experience that same pull to continue watching a show, even if I’m not loving it anymore. Once the producers or writers have you hooked on certain characters, it’s amazing how long viewers will continue to watch even though the show has gone down hill. Take a look at Gossip Girl or Pretty Little Liars. Those plot-lines nearly disappeared, but the loyal fans were still there to watch every week. Valerie Medoff

  3. mediaphiles says:

    This is so true! I refuse to “keep up” with the Kardashians; and by this I mean making an effort to find out what time their show comes on, or the date Kylie’s new lip kit releases. Yet, if there is nothing on TV that I am particularly watching and I see the Kardashians is on E! I do not hesitate to turn it on. Why? Again, I’m not completely sure. I will not pretend that the family isn’t entertaining as well as giving great beauty advice/tips, but I find myself almost disappointed when I admit to watching the show for any period of time. It’s almost like I do not want to feed into the obsession over this family that really is famous for no (significant) reason.
    -Kendall Fischlein

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Though I have never watched the Kardashians myself, I understand their popularity and the appeal to reality TV. It’s dramatic, it’s funny, and it’s supposedly real – why wouldn’t we be entertained by such crazy lives? The funny thing about reality TV is though, its not real. I recently through mutual friends have come to know a character of The Real World Seattle. I have never seen the show, but I had heard enough about her character from others and even her, herself to know that it was all staged. When I told her that I hadn’t seen the show, she said “Oh thank god, please don’t watch it. That’s not me at all”. I got to known Nia and from what I saw and from what I had heard about the show, she was not the “Hurricane Nia” that the show made her out to be. I also have known stars of The Real Housewives of DC and know for a fact that many of those plot lines were also staged. It is just interesting to me that it can be called reality TV if so much of it is fake.
    Nicolette McCann

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I think like Courtney mentioned in the first comment, many times we follow these reality t.v. shows, especially the Kardashians because they have become so prominent in our lives. We are constantly being fed news about them whether it be in social media or in stores and advertisement. I read an article once that told me that what truly has made the Kardashians successful is their way of reaching out to their audience on every outlet and making it seem like we have a personal connection with them. For example, watching Kylie on instagram explain how to make a grilled cheese sandwich or seeing her birthday videos. The Kardashian family has been able to expose their lives to the point that we almost feel obligated to keep up (no pun intended) with their lives.

    Alexandra Peralta

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree with you. Honestly I am somewhat embarrassed that I still watch this family, but you know what I have realized? Their antics make my life seem WAY more normal and it comforts me to watch the show. I think this is a really important point to Allie’s blog, I agree that KUWTK is more than a television show, they bring you into the world of a large and crazy family….. AND that is interesting. That is why they are so successful. -Ally Harper

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I freely admit that I have not Kept Up with Kardashians; however, I believe that the Kardashian family are geniuses when it comes to the media and how they market themselves. Everywhere you go you always see them. It is like you cannot escape them, but they have put themselves in a position where you are always talking about them. It has become apart of our lives because everyone loves gossip and everyone loves scandal. It is a marketing tool that attracts the masses and it works! There is no such thing as bad publicity and the Kardashians market that well to their advantage.

    -Shelby Halliman

  8. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with several post above as to why the Kardashians have stayed on air for so long. They know how to market themselves (Kris Jenner). They know how to keep people coming back and it’s not like there is any substance to what’s they’re doing. I think the from their understanding they realize they have a life that most people want, and that is becoming famous without have to do much work at all. They’ve mastered the talent of making the most out of nothing and have everyone raving about it. I admit to being obsessed with the show as well once before, but I’ll leave this here with a little video. Hence my reason for stopping that addiction and finding other shows:

  9. mediaphiles says:

    Allie, I totally agree with you about everything in this article. As much as I LOVE the Kardashians (to the point that I follow all of them on social media and literally “keep up” with them), I am often embarrassed to admit how emotionally invested I am in their show. The show lacks any kind of real storyline, and at this point in its career is starting to become mundane. I believe that part of this is the result of fame for each member of the family and how it has changed their careers; they no longer sit around at DASH gossiping or having modest family barbecues. Now everything is a spectacle that needs to outshine the last. While a causal story is not present, the raw family relationships displayed are relatable and keep us coming back for more. I, too, felt part of Kim’s wedding, and ached for Kourtney in her painful breakup with Scott. In some way, we can all relate to heartbreak, disappointment, excitement, and familial love. I think we keep coming back to this show because as unrelatable as they seem, they are still a family and we find comfort in observing their dynamics.

    Arianna Gershon

  10. marymdalton says:

    I’m not sure whether to be proud or embarrassed that I have not watched this show.

Leave a Reply

