Finally

Everyone has a hypothetical situation that they’d like to see played out. Mine is something  of a historical situation that I have been hearing about since 7th grade. A situation that most likely everyone knows, but it’s never something that your teachers spent much time explaining or talking about. To my joyful surprise, this idea has now been turned into a weekly drama program that is aired on ABC. The program is called Designated Survivor and it portrays the highly improbable situation that if during the State of The Union Address the President and all the present cabinet members were to be killed there is always one cabinet member that gets hidden in an undisclosed location that would be next in line to become the President. In this show, the designated survivor is Keifer Sutherland and I couldn’t be any happier about it. I was a huge fan of 24 and seeing him back on TV and in a show that I have a huge interest in is a pretty great situation and I hope there are others that can share in my excitement.

http://abc.go.com/shows/designated-survivor/episode-guide/season-1/01-pilot

-Nick Luedeke

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finally

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’m SO excited about this one too. I had never heard of the “Designated survivor” act before, but after seeing commercials for the show I couldn’t stop researching both the situation and which Cabinet members have been chosen to be the designated survivor before. It’s crazy to think that they have a plan in place just in case something like this ever happens. Haven’t seen the first episode yet but am definitely planning on watching.

    -Sam Moore

  2. Serena says:

    I feel you on the hype! I love crime dramas and this one fits right in! It goes to show what regulations people think of in case of tragedy. After 24 was discontinued, I needed my Keifer Sutherland fix, and now I have it! –Serena Daya

  3. mediaphiles says:

    This is a really cool topic, I wish there was a television show that did a different hypothetical situation per episode or per season. If it was per season there could be endless amounts of hypothetical situations to keep the show running, like what would happen during and after a nuclear fallout, or what would cause WW III?

    -turner arrington

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I love Kiefer Sutherland! It’s interesting to see him in the inverse of his role on 24. It’s pretty interesting how we associate his type with something fundamentally American and masculine. – Reece Guida

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I have never heard of this show but definitely sounds like a lot of fun and very interesting. I do know who Kiefer Sutherland and I absolutely love him, I’m going to give the show a shot. Also thanks for the information, since I’m foreign I had no idea something like that existed!. – Jon Baquero

  6. mediaphiles says:

    This is the first that I am hearing about this show but needless to say after hearing your description of it I am extremely interested in watching it and definitely will be doing so.

    -Max Lissette

Leave a Reply

