New Girl Elections

By: Ayla Acosta

Currently, I am taking the COM class Sports, Media, and Communication, in which we have discussed the importance (and quite frankly annoying) presence of politics in sports. It seems obvious that sports and politics should remain separate, but as I look at other forms of media such as television programs, I begin to realize that it is not possible to avoid the combination of anything and politics. 

A prime example of this is seen in Season 6, Episode 2 of New Girl “Hubbedy Bubby.” In this episode, Jess and Cece are openly supporting  Hillary Clinton while Schmidt (apprently) is refusing to vote. The girls recruit young women from a college, Jess dresses as Donald Trump and yells at some cars, all while Cece is deciding whether or not she should attend a 4-year college. Although I am not an all-knowledgable human about New Girl, I do see this scenario as a stretch. Could producers be searching for a new way to reach a younger audience? Did Hillary Clinton’s campagin pay for the production of this episode as a way of propoganda?

Read this article and let me know your thoughts.

http://www.avclub.com/tvclub/election-themed-new-girl-democracy-and-not-joke-243226

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Girl Elections

  1. Serena says:

    I think you bring up an interesting point about the intersection of politics and media; however, I disagree with your stance. I think it is vehemently important for people with visibility to use their power to promote a cause they believe in, regardless of their beliefs. The beliefs they are promoting will be parsed out and eventually not noticed by a certain population if enough people disagree with what a person in a position of power is promoting. Take the Colin Kaepernick example. Many people disagree with his methodology and protest in general, but he is still in view because enough people agree with him and continue to support him. But, a white supremacist is going to be shut down quickly, regardless of the platform they have. – Serena Daya

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I love New Girl and am excited to watch this episode because as soon as I heard it was about the election I was interested in the direction the writers would take with it. I do agree that especially at this moment in time, it is extremely difficult to separate politics from anything else in media. This article, however, poses a few positive thoughts on this episode and the way it focused more on the characters than on the actual election and politicians. I believe that if writers are going to include politics in their show, then they should treat it in this way in order to avoid one generalization and instead giving voices to the characters that can create new outlooks and opinions.
    -Lacey Worsham

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I absolutely think, from what the AV article told me and not from my own viewing experience, that this episode is a plug for Hillary Clinton. The fact that Jess dressed up as Donald not only gestures to how his character is essentially character but also emasculates him, pointing to his ridiculous appearance, an appearance based critique usually reserved for women. I am curious to hear what you are discussing in your Sports class, because I have actually been thinking about how the most recent Presidential debate had broadcasting characteristics similar to those of Sports Center. This was especially evident in the post-debate analysis, which sounded more like a post-game one. Sitting around a long table with lights on its front to entertain the audience, red and blues dominated the background as if they were colors of two rival sports teams. The format also was familiar: in the margins, Tweets fluttered, and discussion points were bulleted to capture our attention span. Even the debate was more of a battle and less of an informative dialogue. The point is that Americans want to be entertained, and politics have taken a good cue from sports, which capture our attention better than politics.

    – Reece Guida

  4. mediaphiles says:

    The interesting thing about elections is that they reveal a lot more about the electorate than the candidates themselves. Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton have almost become ideas bigger than themselves. It is almost as if they are abstract ideas. I feel that political candidates bring out a lot in individuals, whether it be hope, anger, dissatisfaction, bigotry, thoughtfulness, and a myriad of other things. In my opinion, the producers were trying to reflect the characters through their voting preference, and, again in my opinion, it would generally make sense that Cece and Jess would support Hillary Clinton. I believe it would be interesting if more shows, especially ones like Modern Family, did an election show! Elections are exemplary of cultural shifts just as sitcoms are. – Andrew Guido

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I find this very episode of New Girl to be very interesting! I completely agree with you about the fact that politics is unavoidable and exists everywhere around us. While I have only watched a few episodes of New Girl, I think that this is a positive new direction for television shows. I am a huge supporter of voting and make an effort to encourage others to vote, regardless of his or her preferred candidate. I can see why some individuals may view this episode as a stretch, but I applaud the producers, writers, and directors, for taking such a risk. I would assume the there are a large amount of young adults and teenagers who watch New Girl, and I think that it is wonderful that the show is putting it’s tremendous societal influence to good use!
    -Allie Kleinman

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I have yet to watch the most recent season of “New Girl”, however, I find it very interesting that the writers and producers made the explicit decision to include current politics in one of their shows. It is usually the case that television sitcoms avoid discussing sensitive or highly-debated topics, as they try to act as an entertainment outlet for their viewers. “New Girl” has challenged societal norms in some of their episodes in the past, so I can’t say that I’m exactly surprised by this decision, however, I wonder how this will affect other television sitcoms. Will other shows start incorporating more recent news and topics into their episodes, or will they hold back and continue on with their creation of this alternative reality, where politics and “touchy” topics aren’t discussed?
    – Eleanor Raether

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I have not seen this episode of New Girl but I am not surprised that it took a political direction considering the type of publicity Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton have gotten. I think it makes sense to bring in some politics to the show because it is such an important situation currently happening in America. I understand that sitcoms present a fictionalized world but even in that world politics still exists.
    – Ziba

  8. mediaphiles says:

    I have not seen the episode either but it definitely sounds like they want to capitalize on how much attention the election is getting (debate had 84 million viewers) by including related content in the show. I think it may be a way of trying to get more interest in the show by including topics that are relevant to whats going on in the real world.

    -Max Lissette

Leave a Reply

