I’m on “Team Maggie” – Allie Kleinman

After watching some of the most influential television shows of the 1950s, I began to think more about the role of African Americans within the various forms of media today. When considering some of my favorite shows, I recognized that Greys Anatomy recently did an exceptional job at bringing attention towards white privilege and the race issues that are so prevalent within society. I just finished watching Season 12 on Netflix and was very impressed with the way in which Shonda Rimes included real-life issues in the episodes.

Greys.jpg

In the show, Amelia asks Maggie if she was being a racist when she chose to believe Wilson instead of Edwards. To give a bit of background if you haven’t seen the show, Wilson is a white female doctor and Edwards is a black female doctor. Maggie informs Amelia that racism is still very much alive when she states, “It’s when people assume I’m a nurse, or when I go to get on an airplane with my first class ticket and they tell me that they’re not boarding coach yet.” Further into their conversation, Maggie told Amelia one of the most profound and important statements I have ever heard on Greys Anatomy: “Check your white privilege.”

I applaud Shonda Rimes for addressing this issue within the television series because I think that all viewers need to be aware of the way in which race is viewed and treated in America today. Although it is just one scene, it had an overwhelming affect on me and made me value Greys Anatomy more than I originally did. While I love shows that provide entertainment, I especially appreciate shows that provide both entertainment and education. I encourage all of you to watch Season 12 in hopes that you, too, will recognize that, sadly, racism still exists within America today.

Check out this article, Grey’s Anatomy Proves Racism Still Exists – Even If Everybody Doesn’t See It, that discusses the importance of the episode in depth.

 

Featured Image Citation:

“‘Grey’s Anatomy’ Lectures ‘Check Your White Privilege'” NewsBusters. N.p., n.d. Web. 03

Oct. 2016.

In Text Photo Citation:

Owen, Vera. “The Greys Anatomy Season 12 Finale Is Now on Hulu.” Hulu. N.p., 2016. Web.

03 Oct. 2016.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m on “Team Maggie” – Allie Kleinman

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I love how Shonda Rhimes navigates these issues. She handles them in a way that forces audiences to confront them instead of slipping in a cheap joke here and there. Although the monologues are dramatized, they are monologues that are long overdue for some audiences. Monologues that have long lived in the heads of minorities and now, thanks to Shonda, have finally found their way on one of the most popular mediums – television.

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Karoline Summerville

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Shonda Rhimes always does an exceptional job at familiarizing her audience with social issues. She always has a very diverse array of characters and incorporates real-life issues into her shows. Even though Grey’s Anatomy is entertaining, emotional, etc. I think the main reason why I keep watching (even after 12 long seasons) is because I am amazed by the script writing and issues that come to life in Shonda’s series. -Jenna Romano

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I AM OBSESSED WITH SHONDA. And I agree with what everyone has said. In a world where we struggled to address issues that are controversial, Shonda seems to discuss them in her shows flawlessly. For example, in Scandal, there was a “Freddy Grey” episode in which Olivia Pope fixes a situation where a cop killed a black man because he thought that the man was carrying a gun. It was an excellent episode and was highly praised. She made a statement in a way that opened up a discussion. That is what television needs. -Ally Harper

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I think that everyone can agree that Shonda Rimes is amazing. Whenever you see a preview for a show that she has created, I’m instantly interested it in. I love Grey’s Anatomy and have been watching it since the first season. I agree that this is an aspect of the show that I love about it. Shonda is not afraid to incorporate these issues into her episodes. I’m looking forward to seeing how this current season plays out. – Katie Thevenow

  6. marymdalton says:

    I support her in principle more than in practice! When Grey’s Anatomy came on the air, I was still deeply enmeshed in ER and stayed loyal to my show. I did watch the first couple of seasons of Scandal but lost interest when it moved away from the “procedural” structure when Olivia handles different cases on most episodes. I watched the first season of How To Get Away With Murder, but it was a bit of a slog for me — I dropped it after the first season. I don’t know…it’s just a little melodramatic for me…but I’m thrilled to see Rimes’s success!

Leave a Reply

