Roseanne- Family at its finest!

Thinking of family sitcoms in the new generation, I began to think of one of my favorites from the 90’s- Roseanne. I remember watching it growing up whenever it was on T.V. and loving the dynamic of the characters on the show. I think I simply was hooked on the realist issues and portrayal of the family along with the characteristics they had. They dealt with real issues in each episode that made it seem like they were similar to the rest of us, imperfect.

Many times, old family sitcoms would show these ideal and perfect families that the writers assumed the viewers aspired to be. For example, in the 1950’s many of the families focused around the ideal and typical American family at the time that was living that family dream. We also saw different shows portray the housewife role for women. As shows continued, this trend mostly continued. Of course, other issues were challenged but never the ‘perfect family’ view.

I think thats what I like most about Roseanne. We are exposed to a family that deal with real issues in a comedic manner. Not only that, but they are not a model family in the sense of appearance either. Other shows would portray a beautiful, model-like family that was in many cases just unrealistic. This show broke those boundaries by looking like an average family.

 

90ef903cae5c53e2f88150a22a1100aa.jpg

 

Check out this great article that talks all about Roseanne :

Roseanne-Family Portrayal

 

-Alexandra Peralta (October 10,2016)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roseanne- Family at its finest!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I really like your observation that Roseanne is not the model family in the sense of appearances. I think this is very important to note since most sitcoms at this time not only featured ideal families but also beautiful ones. Even in a relatable and comical 1950s sitcom such as I Love Lucy, both Lucy and Ricky are very attractive people!

    Stephanie Rubin

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I love this not only for what Stephanie pointed out, but in terms of this week’s writer interviews where we talk about Leave it to Beaver and other “model” families. It is so important to look at what America and Hollywood are telling us are “normal” or “good” families. It’s crucial to how we interpret other people and our own experiences, I think. – Corey

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I remember watching Roseanne when I was younger and I always thought the show was hilarious. Learning about the history of sitcoms and how the definition of family in a sitcom changes throughout time is so interesting. I agree about Roseanne not being an ideal family definition. I think it is a great example of the the definition of family in a sitcom keeps changing. – Katie Thevenow

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I remember watching Roseanne as a child, and totally disliking it. That being said, reading your blog post and the attached article, and reflecting back on the show, you are very right in the sense that Roseanne does a great job of depicting a realistic family environment. Although I hated the show at the time, I think it is important for family sitcoms such as Roseanne to exist, to illustrate to its viewers (especially children) that not all families are the perfect cookie-cutter image that Hollywood has engrained in our minds. Children need to learn that it’s okay to not fulfill the stereotypical images and roles that society has placed for us. – Eleanor Raether

Leave a Reply

