New Girl, New Life

Our New Girl script is due this week, and I want to take the opportunity to talk about the show. I started watching the show for this class, I had never watched it before. I have to admit that I didn’t have high expectations, but against the odds I absolutely love the show now. There is no night that I don’t watch an episode. They are a little non biological family going through stuff together. Jess moves into an apartment with 3 boys, our head tells us that nothing good can come out of that. How are 4 good looking young adults going to live together without sexual tension? During the first episodes we can see how there is a lot of sexual tension between Nick and Jess, and of course the sexual tension between CeCe and Schmidt. This reminds me of college. You move in without knowing anyone, they give you a random roommate, sharing a bathroom and mixing you with the opposite gender. Jess has to go through the same stuff we did our Freshman year. She comes out of a 6 year relationship and has to start from scratch. This is easy for some people, but we all know that this can also be a hard experience for some others. New Girl is a good representation of our college lives. This is the first time for most of us living on our own.  A great opportunity to find ourselves, to find out what we like and who we can be. There are times that things don’t work out and we feel down. But just as Jess has her roommates, there are always people who going to be there for you and pick you app when you feel down. – Jon Baquero

new-girl.jpeg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Girl, New Life

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree that New Girl is so applicable to people our age, and I think that’s why it has been so successful. It shows that despite sexual tension that can complicate friendships, real friendships can endure the test. I also think the many different friendships within New Girl make us think of the different friendships we have with people in college, and therefore we sympathize with the conflicts and celebrate the accomplishments these friendships experience. -Lacey Worsham

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Interesting that you compare New Girl to college. I think of Friends in a lot of ways, but some of your argument could apply to that as well. How do you think the different and changing careers of the cast relates to the college analogy? Different majors? I’m curious how far the comparisons can go as it is an interesting analog. – Max Dosser

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I like how you mentioned your friends becoming your nonbiological family in college, just like in New Girl. I agree with Lacey that true friendships can withstand the sexual tension, and that the different relationship dynamics within new girl are similar to those we can make in college. -Kelsey Sierra

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I like how you mentioned the aspect of family and how they all lean on each other especially in times of need, I think this is what makes New Girl so similar to shows like Friends where a group of friends seem more like a family than friends.

    -Max Lissette

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I really like your comparison about coming to college! I started watching this show in high school when it aired, so I never thought about it through this lens. – Sarah King

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I think this is a great comparison! I love New Girl and I think the idea of starting over is intimidating in any situation. Supportive friendships definitely help us through difficult times, and this is clear on New Girl. It also shows the power of new friends and how starting something new can be the beginning of something incredible.

    Arianna Gershon

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree, I think New Girl echoes Friends in that way. When you’re away from your biological family, your friends really do become your family in a way. And, of course, that brings us to college. I agree with you! -Karly

Leave a Reply

