Freakish | Valerie Medoff

I recently binge watched the new Hulu original series Freakish. The supernatural drama depicts a group of high schoolers in a small town where the local chemical plant has a disastrous spill. While one group of the students decide to stay safe in the school, many venture out of the school and turn into mutate “freaks” that prey on the living.

timeless_logo_500x307

One aspect of this show that I found interesting was the fact that, though it was a drama, the episodes were 22 minutes long. As someone who loves drama tv shows, but hates sitting through a full hour, this was particularly interesting to me.

This show also was not quite like anything I’d seen before. The “freaks” are sort of zombie-like, but their monster-ness isn’t fully defined. Like many of the other shows we’ve been watching for class, Freakish deals with this fear of otherness, though these characters are justified in fearing the freaks because they are deadly.

Additionally, this show presents many common tropes that sitcoms present such as accepting others and coming together with your peers. Yet, it mashes that with the added supernatural element.

This show reminds me of a mix of Teen Wolf and One Tree Hill. Fans of both are sure to delight in this new Hulu original. If you’re looking for a fun quick show to binge watch over fall break, here it is!

Here’s a link to a review if you want to learn more : http://variety.com/2016/tv/reviews/tv-review-freakish-hulu-hayes-grier-1201880637/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Freakish | Valerie Medoff

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I love supernatural shows and absolutely love Teen Wolf! I think a lot of these types of shows can have a bad reputation, especially with the titles “Teen Wolf” and “Freakish” but I love the creative element they bring to getting across messages like you mentioned such as accepting others. I will have to check it out.
    Kendall Fischlein

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I think using science fiction as a platform to tackle stereotyping issues has been really effective for our generation!

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I feel like supernatural shows have been on the rise lately. Stranger Things comes to my mind first especially with its overwhelming popularity. I’m usually not a fan of supernatural shows but I found myself addicted to Stranger Things. Freakish sounds like another supernatural show that I would like! – Katie Thevenow

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I love the fact that this is a drama but has the structure of a sitcom (only 20ish minutes? yes please). I would be interested to see if this is a new trend and if we will be seeing more dramas that take this route. I’m not sure why more dramas aren’t like this, even though I know there is a lot more going on in dramatic television shows. Sometimes I love know that when I hit that 30 minute mark that there is still a second half left, but sometimes it does feel like a chore to power through an hour long episode. -Courtney Green

Leave a Reply

