Where you lead, I will follow- Ally Harper

For anyone who after reading the title of this blog started singing the rest of the song and smiling about what it reminds you of, I applaud you. For anyone who does not know what I am talking about, its okay, you will in a second.

This is the beginning lyrics of the song “Where you Lead” or the Gilmore Girls theme song. Anytime I hear it I immediately get into a better mood because it is nostalgic. And that is what this blog is about today. Television nostalgia.

Has anyone realized how many revivals there has been lately. Gilmore Girls, 90210, Full (oh I mean Fuller) House, and the ability for the Friends cast to “reunite” every few months on a television talk show to name a few.

AND people love it. Watchers get so excited to see their past show up in the present. And I agree, dont you worry I have been counting down the days till the Gilmore Girls revival comes out on Netflix (its Nov. 25 for anyone who is wondering). But back to nostalgia. Why is there a trend to bring old shows back to life. They were successful in the past, but leave them there: you couldnt make another Titanic now would you? (I HOPE NOT). Create something new please! While I love these revivals just like the next watcher, they will never be as good as the originals and you dont mess with something great.

Chris Harnick over at E agrees with me

http://www.eonline.com/news/736749/the-problem-with-tv-revivals-is-there-too-much-love

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where you lead, I will follow- Ally Harper

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve noticed that a lot lately too about the number of TV show revivals. For me, I take it as producers are looking for an easy idea for a successful TV program. I think the mentality could be that if it worked in the past, it should work now. However, I think that this is also a big risk because there is an even bigger responsibility for the show to be an actual good show and not a disappointing remake. – Katie Thevenow

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I definitely agree. Although I love to be nostalgic, there will never be anything like the original content. I’m not sure if the recent influx of remakes has to do with a lack of creativity in hollywood, because there are always new shows every season. Maybe they just see remakes as an easy way to make a buck because they were so popular once how could they not be again? But I agree I think that they should leave the real classics in the past and focus on creating new, exciting content for people now. -Courtney Green

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Normally, I agree. I think revivals are usually a lame attempt to squeeze out some more cash from a successful TV show. I do think, however, that Gilmore Girls will (hopefully) be different. Because Amy Sherman-Palladino was not able to be a part of the final season of Gilmore Girls, this revival will hopefully set the disappointing ending of the series right. I’m so excited to see how she wanted these characters to end up. (Seriously though, can Luke and Lorelai finally be together?!)
    -Valerie Medoff

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with this. It’s definitely nostalgic to watch the shows we used to love, but I feel like we need something new. I am guilty of watching those revival shows but I only watch them for the nostalgia. I honestly hate the revival shows because they are corny and have terrible joke. I also hate when the characters do not turn out the way I wanted them too.
    -Laya Mohan

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I’m honestly so excited about this one though! Fuller House is really terrible but I think it’ll be different with Gilmore Girls, especially seeing as it only ended in 2007. I feel like it’ll have all the same characters and charm as it had before. At least I hope so!

    -Sam Moore

Leave a Reply

